We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, apartment and hosts”
Review of Motel on York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel on York
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We booked this Motel over the phone because it was recommended by Bluestone on George which was booked out and this was a great suggestion. The location is even better - 3 minute walk to the centre of city, restaurants etc. Free parking. I talked to Paul from Sydney and he reserved a 1 bedroom apt. on the top floor with a little balcony and a view of the harbour. The apt. was beautifully decorated and furnished, and very comfortable. Bed terrific and so was the bathroom. Guest laundry much appreciated. Kitchenette perfect for breakfast and lunch. Paul and Sue are great hosts - nothing was too much trouble - we'd highly recommend it. We stayed 3 nights and were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grange50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Motel on York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 171 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2010

I recently stayed here for six nights while visiting family. I had a lovely studio room on the top floor with great views of the harbour. This motel could not be more conveniently located as it is only 3 minutes walk to the centre of town. It is also quiet as it is not on the main street or the oneway system. The staff where very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_Kiwi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Compared to other places around NZ, this was not good value. Neat and tidy, and had all the right equipment, but our room was too small.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournetraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stumbled across this motel, and made a great discovery. The owners are so friendly and helpful, the location is perfect, right in the centre of town. The room was great, with little extras such as chocolates and biscuits. It was great value too.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristchurchJen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We needed a city center motel for one night and this ticked all of the boxes.Convenient walk to everything that we wanted to do, spotlessly clean,good internet service,friendly hosts,well equipped. We upgraded to get a spa bath and it was worth it. We were very comfortable. Hosts even phoned us 30 minutes after we left to tell us we had left something behind which we were able to return for the item as we hadn't gone far.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the north east side, they are very sunny, however we were very surprised to find the kitchen area did not have anything to cook on other than a microwave

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Staff were great to deal with, room was clean and modern .

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triumphnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on York

Address: 47 York Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $98 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel on York 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel on York is a modern complex situated in the heart of the city. With 24 superior, quiet luxury units in a smokefree environment, we offer a range of affordable, high quality accommodation from elegant studios to executive and deluxe suites, all with enhanced video security features and filtered water - right in the centre of Dunedin. All units have LCD TV's. There are laundry facilities on site. Cafes, Theatres, Restaurants and the Main Shopping Centre is a mere 300 metres away from this peaceful inner-city property. For your Dunedin Business Corporate needs we have Free High speed wireless broadband internet (100mbs) access available in all units. Photocopying, and faxing facilities also available. We also have clothing racks.Visit the Cadbury World, Speights, Otago Museum, Dunedin's Railway Station(one of the most photographed in the world), Moana Pool, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Restuarants, Theatre and Shopping all within walking distance from the Motel. Baldwin Street - the worlds steepest street, Larnach Castle with wonderful views over the harbour and Olveston - a landmark Edwardian home built between 1904 and 1906 are just some of the things to see and do while you are in Dunedin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Motel on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel On York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing