We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly place!”
Review of Arcadian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadian Motel
Ranked #47 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located a little bit away from the Octagon central area, the Arcadian motel, however, is a great place to stay. The room is quiet, spacious, and comfy. The host lady was very friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop right in front of the motel, which can easily reach the down town. And nearby there is a super market. Very convenient for self-catering. We absolutely enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 108 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lauren and Peter were first class hosts. Good knowledge of local attractions and restaurants.Room large and spacious. Very clean and comfortable. good parking space. free wifi limit on size but you would have to down load a lot of information to go over the limit. Quiet area. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranmorebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

It was older and not as well maintained. Somewhat far from the main Octagon area. Not convenient to the town. It is on the outskirts of town. There is a small cafe in walking distance. Big living room. Nothing bad but nothing memorable either. Free parking, good TV.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spideymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We found the Arcadian after being badly let down by another motel op.
Well they did us a favour. The Arcadian is a gem of a motel we stayed in the 3 room apartment for two nights.
Really friendly hosts and staff,..... just nice people!!!
The rooms were very clean, large and comfortable.
The beds are extremely comfortable.
Located within a good walk to the beach and a short car ride to town. Lots of food outlets close by.
Huge TVs!! lots of channels.
So quiet at night there was no road noise to speak of.
Now the place to stay in Dunedin

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in 2 bedroom house-part. It had separate entrance for your car and nice little yard. Rooms were both huge with their own bathroom. Spacious and clean. Rooms looked really historic with wooden details near the ceiling. Beds were comfortable and large enough. A short drive from city it still had a great location from the beach. Really helpful staff- helped us to print out some papers and with city map where to go & what to do. Would reccomend !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl007K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel, fully equipped kitchen, great shower, nice and quiet, with separate bedroom, huge TV w/ tons of extra channels, lounge area and eating area and chairs to sit in outside. It's in the perfect location within easy walking distance of the beach or the bay and tons of inexpensive restaurants, supermarkets etc. and great views as you walk to and from them. It's right at the gateway of the beautiful Otago Peninsula, yet five minutes drive to central Dunedin, or an easy half hour or less walk away. Dunedin is a really great city, with a wonderful free art museum, botanic gardens, great student vibe, beautiful buildings, cheap parking near the lovely Octagon (outdoor cafe strewn area downtown) and the perfect climate - cool enough in summer (yet with the same precipitation as Christchurch) so perfect for all the tramps you'll want to take on gorgeous Otago which has tons of hidden bays, bucolic hills and penguins. Really wish we'd planned on staying there longer as there are so many little day trips just minutes away - the Leith Valley with glow worms and other attractions, a scenic railway etc., beautiful castles and gardens, lonely bright beaches, high roads with fabulous views of the Pacific and bay. Our hosts were so pleasant and informative, can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsshaffner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Highly recommend the Arcadian as it was highly recommended to us for our 3 week stay. The Hosts Lauren and Peter and their staff looked after us really well. Hopefully there will be a return booking in my future. We were a couple of Sisters visiting Family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
205 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
113 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 61 in Dunedin
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#29 of 61 in Dunedin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadian Motel

Address: 85 Musselburgh Rise | Sunshine, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $65 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadian Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is situated in a quiet suburban location, only minutes from the centre of Dunedin but on the route to the Otago Peninsula. We have a range of units of varying sizes suitable for individuals, couples, families or groups. We enjoy advising travellers of the many attractions Dunedin has to offer. See our web page for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arcadian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadian Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing