We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes”
Review of Arcadian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadian Motel
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My third visit, and again had a good experience. A clean room, good bed, cooking facilities (really appreciated the good knives), and an easy walk to shops and supermarket. A quieter part of town and everyone was very friendly and helpful. All for a good price. Appreciated the free WiFi,too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in January and were very satified. We had a room in the house - downstairs - rather than the traditional motel type rooms. Everything was clean, it was a large room with a small area to make drinks/breakfast, sofa and TV, free wi-fi was appreciated. This was the cheapest place we stayed in in a 3 week trip of NZ but it was nicer than some of the more expensive places.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerychappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had booked a studio room but on arrival were told because they had double booked we had been upgraded to a room with a full kitchen and extra large king bed!! Motel easy to find the road is south of Dunedin city centre and just at the base of the otago peninsula. Room was lovely and clean, and the bed super comfy with dick down duvet and pillows and soft sheets. Kitchen had a fridge, microwave and hotplates. Nice big shower separate from the toilet and sink. Flat screen tv with a few sky channels too. Free (300mb) wifi. Nice friendly staff on check in and there is a guest information booker in the room describing everything from how to work the tv to what to do in the area. Free parking too. Our room was 2nd one in from the road but we didn't get woken one by any road noise, the road wasn't that busy in the day and seemed even less busy at night! Dunedin is a lovely town beautiful architecture and we would definitely stay here again if returning. Only note is that is probably too far to walk to town would maybe take 30mins at a guess but if you have a car it's a 5min drive to the centre of town with loads of parking in the centre. 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayleighTasha_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Friendy Hosts, Nice Part of Town, good rate. New Furnishings in a late 70s retro building. Very Tidy and clean, will be back.

Room Tip: Probably not in the unit by the main road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stay here every year over Christmas. This year we arrived much earlier than the check-in time -- a good 4 hours earlier! The hosts were gracious and gave us the only room they had available which was an upgrade - but they charged us the same rate.

If you're looking for luxury, this place ain't it. But it's always clean and it's well priced. We'll be there next Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We find the Arcadian, friendly, understanding, customer focussed, very clean and good beds.
The Motel may be considered a little dated but has kept up a good appearance and modern facilities.
Recommended for those who want a comfortable, quiet stay

Room Tip: back units are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Booked last minute when we decided to visit Dunedin. Somewhat out of downtown with basic, somewhat shabby room. It did the trick but I wouldn't want to stay longer than a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowntownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
206 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadian Motel

Address: 85 Musselburgh Rise | Sunshine, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadian Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is situated in a quiet suburban location, only minutes from the centre of Dunedin but on the route to the Otago Peninsula. We have a range of units of varying sizes suitable for individuals, couples, families or groups. We enjoy advising travellers of the many attractions Dunedin has to offer. See our web page for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadian Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing