We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, Great hosts, We'd come back”
Review of Arcadian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadian Motel
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Absolutely great motel to stay at, great hosts who were so friendly. We were in Dunedin on bad news and so it was nice to be shown such great hospitality at such a hard time. There were 6 of us staying in a two bedroom room for 5 nights, and for us aussies who felt the cold, the room was comfortable and warm, with enough heating as well as electric blankets a nice big flatscreen and comfortably large lounge room. The room was so clean, bright and airy and we had fresh towels everyday. There is also a laundry where you can wash, dry and iron your clothes. Everything you need is here.

It is well located only 2 sections on the local bus to the city and shops with the bus stop right outside the doors. Takeaway, corner store, bakery and pharmacy less than a minute walk. If you want to cook for yourself, it has a great sized kitchenette with a full oven and the supermarket is about 2mins down the road.

My family loved the motel, thanks for a great stay and Lauren thanks for your compassion at this sad time of ours. When we come back to Dunedin this is the place that we will stay.

Room Tip: Great place, quiet, clean and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mochachilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 109 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Arcadian. Our room was large and comfortable and had a nice skylight. It's nothing fancy but it's a good value for the price. The owners were friendly and funny and their little dogs, George and Rose, are very cute. (Don't worry, they don't sleep in your room or anything.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were just passing through Dunedin so were in the room a very short time. It was clean and the owners were lovely so we felt it was fine and worth the money for a short stay. Nothing luxurious though if that is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keukarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

A very well located motel to visit the Otago peninsula.Nothing special,but friendly owner who had a laptop for use.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is in need of a major overhaul. Most of the furnishings are extremely dated (including the bedding, see pictures). The only modern touch is the large LCD tv, which is hung on a cindercrete block wall.
The bathroom is small and dumpy.
It was tidy, but there was a strong smell of onions when we checked in. The manager did say she would move us if that were a problem. Why should I have to ask? If there were something better available, she should make the call.
THIS IS DEFINATELY NOT WORTH THE #8 RANK!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaTravelFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Lauren and Pete were outstanding hosts. I stayed with ten girls for a sports tournament. The accommodation was spacious, warm, quiet, comfortable and so close to the stadium. The hosts went out of their way to provide ice for us (lots of it for the injured players) and even came to watch our basketball games.
Many thanks and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was one of the better motels we stayed in during our south island trip. The first night we arrived they were almost full and we requested a studio as there were only 2 of us. They didn't have any studios available, but gave us a one bedroom at the studio price as we were not going to use the extra bed. The free wireless internet was great. The owners were very nice, accomodating, and friendly. Laundry was also convenient.
Overall, best value for your money that we encountered on the trip.
It is really not that far from the city itself as long as you have a car.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleBluePenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#31 of 61 in Dunedin
206 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#32 of 61 in Dunedin
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
74 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garden Motel
Garden Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadian Motel

Address: 85 Musselburgh Rise | Sunshine, Dunedin 9013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadian Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is situated in a quiet suburban location, only minutes from the centre of Dunedin but on the route to the Otago Peninsula. We have a range of units of varying sizes suitable for individuals, couples, families or groups. We enjoy advising travellers of the many attractions Dunedin has to offer. See our web page for further details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadian Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing