We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One out of many things - Snobbish Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of On Top Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
On Top Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
268 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“One out of many things - Snobbish Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

So many things are wrong about this place but I can't stand snobbish and rude people. I stayed here for 3 nights because I had to, due to my travel restrictions. I got really good sense of staff during this time. An example is that picture attached. You find it funny? I find it funny as well. And it turned to be annoying. I got this ticket for internet use but the staff is unattentive and flying around after she handed me this ticket and just difficult to get hold of her to get this fixed. I could see that she is not in a mood listen to the issue. I guess some people don't know how to interact or what to do with some people from different world. Not a good place to stay. The hostel is okay in terms of cleanliness and facilities. But it can get loud at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the cleanliness of the hostel facilities. We offer a limited daily free wifi of 30MB which is usually adequate and most seem happy. Your voucher for a lesser amount was a clear human error made by one of our staff. I’m sure our staff would have been happy to rectify this if you had raised this as an issue. However we are sorry if you felt this particular staff member was not approachable and we have taken this on board and taken the appropriate action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    20
    14
    14
See reviews for
6
22
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Upon booking this hostel, me and my friend were told that it was a YHA Hostel and so looked around the city for a good hour looking for a YHA hostel until the info centre told us that it was now On Top Backpackers. We were stunned by the deposit of $20 for the key - no other hostel/backpackers have ever charged us for this. The room we stayed (a twin)in for six nights had mold growing up the curtain and the duvet covers had tears and stains on them and the top bunk bed was not even made. The staff were rude. We had six nights of rubbish piling up thinking that the housekeepers were going to take it, much to our dismay they would just walk past and only give it a glance. We didnt know where to put it as there was no where labelled for rubbish to go. The shared toilets/showers were a mess and the toilets would often not even have toilet paper in them. Its a nice location and only ten minutes walk to most places. Don't bring a car because the parking is expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_34cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was the low point of my NZ trip! Rude staff who volunteered nothing and acted as if I should know everything already, key deposit required in a YHA hostel!. Alcohol sold downstairs as part of the business and so loud noise outside room until 0100. Stayed in very hot room dusty crowded room, no lockers, bed lights or side tables, Voices could be heard throughout, 10pm quieter time not clearly signed or followed up. The closest toilet was for 'night use only'! Very poor free breakfast, milk and bread ran out quickly and not replenished. Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere, there are cheaper and better places, I found one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniceT796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We were disappointed to read your comment after we had gone out of our way to ensure your trip was enjoyable. You said when you arrived that you had a bad cold and wanted a room with not too many people as you said you were coughing a lot We did this putting you in one of our female only rooms with the least amount of people . Most people come down and ask for us to replenish our complimentary breakfast if it runs out but we have taken your comment on board and now have a sign on the wall to clarify that we are happy to replenish supplies at Reception. As you are aware the Night Hostel Manager spoke to the two people who were playing the banjo and guitar late in the barbecue area and the two guests happily went off to bed and the hostel was quiet again. We are also addressing sound issues this year by double glazing all the windows. This will also decrease the heat loss in all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed in a twin room on the last night of my NZ trip and safe to say it ended the holiday at an all time low. First off the staff were rude when checking in, acting as if we should know everything already. No free parking, there is a car park right next to the place but you have to pay to park there during the day. The room was tiny and not as clean as any other hostels I stayed at on this trip it was also very poorly equipped with only the beds in the room, mo side table or chair. The toilets were in the process of being renovated so there were ladders and other tools throughout the bathroom. Had to pay a key deposit- you don't do this at yha hostels. The kitchen was horrendous. Mess absolutely everywhere, obviously it's hard to make people clean their dishes but it was just exceptionally bad. The oven didn't work. The fridge smelled a bit funny. I was sorely disappointed in this place and its not like its the cheapest place around the area either. It's loud as there is a pub downstairs (which I wasn't aware of when booking). Do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. Parking is free outside the hostel 5.30pm-9am Monday to Friday and all Saturday and Sunday. If you are staying more than one night then the staff are happy to direct you to free parking near by the hostel. Most hostels in NZ ask for a key deposit. We have our four to six staff clean the kitchen on a regular basis several times a day. As you say it is difficult to make backpackers do their own dishes but we have one cleaner whose job it is to monitor and maintain cleanliness in both the kitchen and bathroom every night so that at the end of the night it is left absolutely sparkling ready to greet the first up in the morning. The bar downstairs is insulated from above so that the hostel upstairs is sound and fire insulated from the café/bar downstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights as it is now part of YHA and BBH as the older YHA has closed due to earthquake requirements. Cost $350 for 5 nights so very fair price. We were visiting family in Dunedin so needed somewhere reasonable for sleeps but not cooking other than breakfast. Had a double with en-suite which was just great. Very clean and tidy. Only complaint is no towel rails, had to buy own toilet paper as they "forgot" to replenish and didn't change towels despite us asking. The key deposit is a bit rich at $20 per key. They wanted cash and we didn't have the $40 needed for two. Kitchen was like it had never been cleaned. Not enough cutlery and two sinks and virtually no dish wash made washing difficult. Smoking needs to prohibited entirely as the smokers use the walkway and smoke drifts into rooms. A breach of the NZ Smoke Free Laws? The TV was too small and had a poor picture. Needs replacing soon with "Going Digital". The communal showers were absolutely disgusting with no sign of any any cleaning - at least we had our own. This is a great place but not up to the standard we expect from YHA which I am sure they will seek to improve. Having said all that would stay again but if we had an on-suite. Lots of room for improvement and perhaps YHA should look at our complaints.

Room Tip: No pool - who needs one?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassiachatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontopbackpackers, Owner at On Top Backpackers, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi, its pleasing to hear you may stay here again. We have five deluxe double rooms with ensuites and one standard double with an ensuite. The standard with an ensuite is the only room that does not have a towel rail. We have taken this comment on board and will rectify this problem. It is unfortunate that staff neglected to replenish your toilet paper and towels – this is something we insist upon doing every second day with guests staying more than one night. This was obviously an over sight and we apologize. We also continually strive to replenish cutlery, cups and plates etc when they require replacement.
We appreciate you highlighting the smoking on the deck as an issue as we were unaware of smoke drifting into corridors. We now encourage smokers to smoke in the barbecue area only well away from the corridors.
We request cash as we return your key deposit to you in cash in the morning. Both the kitchen and bathrooms are cleaned regularly by the four to six staff whom reside at the Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in January 2103.
We were in a private double with an en-suite.
When we got to the room it was like stepping into a sauna, as it is on the top floor and the windows were closed prior to our arrival. We opened the windows immediately and by the time we went to sleep is was just about bearable.
The "free WiFi" was 40MB each, last about 10 minutes and then they wanted us to pay for anything additional. And at that, the WiFi didnt reach our room so we had to sit in the bar to use our free 10 minutes.
The bathroom in the room was spotlessly clean and the tv was a good size, but the pillows were flat as pancakes.
Free breakfast in the morning was cereal and bread/butter/jam, which was nice, but unless your in the kitchen when they drop it off you wont get any.
$88 a night was reasonable, but dont expect anything fancy.
If it had air conditioning it would have been fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here with 3 people for 1 night. We changed the room because of the dirty looking linen and pillows. There were many dirty spots on the linen, hairs in the beds and the kitchen smells disgusting. We asked for another room because of the used looking beds. The other dorm beds looked the same. It could be a very nice hostel in a a central city position. But it was disgusting!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weltenbummler201211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#35 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On Top Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On Top Backpackers

Property: On Top Backpackers
Address: Corner Filleul Street & Moray Place, Dunedin, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On Top Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ontop is a purpose built backpackers, 100% compliant to the new earthquake building standard and situated above a cosy cafe & bar located in the heart of Dunedin. We aim to provide the ultimate Dunedin experience for all you young and hip or just plain hip travellers! We have rooms to suit everyone, from dormitories to private rooms with or without an ensuite. You can enjoy the Dunedin sun on our spacious sun deck or come downstairs and try our range of magnificent craft beers over a friendly game of pool or even watch a classic film in our very own stylish cinema! We are only a minute's walk to the city's best bars, cafes, restaurants and shopping. Our friendly staff will share inside knowledge of tours and the bountiful treasures Dunedin has to offer. Whether its roaming the spectacular coastline of the Otago peninsula or exploring Dunedin's array of historical and heritage architecture, with its great central location and excellent facilities, Ontop is a great place to stay, relax and enjoy the Deep South! So come join us and soak up Dunedin's atmosphere! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your On Top Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing