We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Internet at Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azena Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azena Motel
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“No Internet at Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

For some reason the internet was shut off during the evening when the desk was closed. Otherwise the motel was in a good location - we walked into city centre - the price was good and they even had a washer and dryer. What a plus that was at the end of a month long NZ trip.

Room Tip: Rooms 13, 14 and 15 are on the bottom floor and at the end therefore a little quieter. The upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wernickejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
45
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

One of the better budget accommodations we stayed in while exploring NZ. Room was spacious and clean and had a sunny patio. Free Wi-Fi. We were pleasantly surprised with washer/dryer in the bathroom. Not far from the city center.
Free parking. I would definitely stay here again if in CHC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay!! Our room was modern and clean and included a full kitchen with utensils, toaster, microwave etc. Also came with washing machine and dryer and although they were not used, still very handy! Room was spacious with beds, couch and dining table and what a bonus having a huge plasma TV on the wall! Excellent room for such a low price. Location is very handy, it is a short driving distance from Northlands Mall, Palms Mall and the city centre. Service was great too, the manager was lovely and when we left behind items in our room she contacted us and got them sent to us by courier that day. Overall a fantastic motel and will be recommending to friends and family! Thanks Azena Motel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
144 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Azena Motel gave us a very pleasant stay upon arrival in Christchurch. We didn't have much expectations as it was our first time in New Zealand but from the photos we saw on the booking website we hoped that it would not turn out too bad. True emough, check in was really easy and our room was ready for us even though we arrived in the morning. There is ample parking space but the car parks can be a little squeezy as the lots are quite narrow. If you're driving this is something to consider.

The rooms were squeaky clean and like all motels in New Zealand, there is a little kitchenette for you to do your own cooking if you're on a budget and don't like to eat out all the time. We got our own meat and vegetables from the supermarket and cooked our own dinner, which turned out pretty well. Pots and pans are provided together with utensils and dish washing liquid and sponges for us to clean up.

There are no hotel facilities like gym or swimming pool, but for the price you're paying, the stay in the motel is really worth it.

Overall 4 stars for a good motel on a budget. Good value for money. Skip the hotels and stay in a motel. The experience and value you get is much better.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are the same - they all face the carpark but all are quiet enough for a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here the first day of our trip to NZ, having arrived in to Christchurch airport earlier in the day. Chose the motel due to the reviews on tripadvisor and overall I'd say they are correct.

We had a room with a double and a single bed, with a young child this was fine as mum and daughter go in the double and dad in the single. Beds were comfortable and clean.

The kitchen in the room is very well equipped and had everything we needed, and the bathroom at the back also had the washing machine and drier which were in great condition and came in very handy indeed after a few days in Sydney where the dirty washing had piled up.

The staff were very friendly, spoke with a young Asian guy when we checked in and an older caucasian lady on checkout and both were very helpful.

Location of the motel was nice, over the road is a supermarket, a pharmacy, a pizza place, a pub and a few other shops, so you won't need to search far to get some supplies. It's probably about 2km from the main city centre but then if you've got a car it's not a problem to drive down, it takes 5-10 mins as the traffic in Christchurch isn't bad at all. Whilst the motel is close to a main road, there isn't loud traffic noise and we all slept well here.

All-in-all, a great place to stay and one I'd recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderingLimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you're heading to Christchurch, do yourself a favour and stay at the Azena Motel. This is in the perfect location - just across the road from the supermsrket, walking distance to town and not far from all other attractions such as the gondola, the Antarctic Centre and the airport. The manager was incredibly helpful and obviously takes pride in the motel. Full cooking facilities were provided and there was an excellent washer and dryer in the bathroom. All absolutely perfect for weary travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsJayMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here on a trip up north and found the owner to be extremely helpful and friendly. Had everything we were after although, as with most Christchurch motels and hotels at the moment, it was a bit more expensive than we would have hoped. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank britinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#29 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#74 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#41 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tudor Court Motel
Tudor Court Motel
#76 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#124 of 148 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Northcote Motor Lodge
Northcote Motor Lodge
#89 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azena Motel

Property: Azena Motel
Address: 12 Cranford Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azena Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azena Motel, new! opened 2007 , studio apertments with free internet in room conection cat.5e cable. Washing machines and dryer in all units , brilliant breakfast menu. Party of 4 or 5 ? no problem - we have units with interconnecting doors. close to CBD -2.0kms bus at the door . Airport is 9.5kms - 10-15 taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Azena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing