We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just....ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azena Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Azena Motel
Ranked #65 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just....ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in March 2013. The motel is situated on a main road, a short drive into the city centre. It is a walkable distance, and we walked it once, which was pleasant enough. The room was a good size, clean and well equipped. There was a washer and dryer in the room, which was a nice touch. The reception staff were friendly, WiFi and free parking were available. The motel lacked personality/charm, the location was not ideal for the city and not a very nice location either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    46
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
45
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Friendly hosts, modern, very clean, toasty warm with everything you need. Great location - short drive into the central city but good shops, supermarket, bakery bar etc right across the road. Bus stops right outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Good place to stay, short bus ride from Christchurch restart mall/Tuam Street bus station. Room was spacious, clean, massive tv, kitchen facilities, bathroom was good sized, very clean. Beds were comfortable. Well located near Dominos, a supermarket, a bar & a petrol station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracey-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My room was great. Very clean and comfortable. It had a little kitchenette with a stove top, fridge, and microwave, and there was even a washer and dryer in the room. Not at the motel... actually in my room for only me to use. I've never even seen that before. Great place to recharge on your trip. Very friendly and helpful reception. This is more than I've paid for any room on my trip, as I've been sticking mostly to hostels, but I'm glad I splurged and it was well worth the price for what I got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeahiknow1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed one night. The room i had was clean and spacious with new quality fittings. Unlike some of the jaded motels/hotels that i have stayed in in NZ! The room was equipped with a large screen tv, kitchenette with sufficient cutlery, washing machine/dryer, smart shower that wasn't grubby or tatty and a comfy bed...that wasn't saggy and worn out! Conveniently located to the city centre with a supermarket and good eateries across the road.
The owner responded to my booking promptly with additional information and was helpful when i arrived, assisting with my transport for the following day.
The only downside was some traffic noise from the usual ChCh car 'hoons'.
All in all, a competitively priced motel that is a safe bet and i would certainly use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spacious and quality fitout. Free Internet usage also most welcome
Good restaurants 2min walk and Shriley Shopping Centre just 5 mins drive
Also BP Petrol station near the motel
Pleasant stay at reasonable cost!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for one night while passing through. Nice facilities in room. Helpful receptionist. Standard for this part of the world--and reasonably priced. If you're taking intercity buses, the station on Hanley Road is nearby (10 mins walk).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.3 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#74 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#42 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achilles Motel
Achilles Motel
#124 of 148 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#66 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azena Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azena Motel

Property: Azena Motel
Address: 12 Cranford Street | St Albans, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Azena Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azena Motel, new! opened 2007 , studio apertments with free internet in room conection cat.5e cable. Washing machines and dryer in all units , brilliant breakfast menu. Party of 4 or 5 ? no problem - we have units with interconnecting doors. close to CBD -2.0kms bus at the door . Airport is 9.5kms - 10-15 taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Azena Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing