We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous accommodation...fantastic food..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Ranked #11 of 134 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous accommodation...fantastic food..”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

My partner & I had a 1 night stopover at Pomeroy's. What a shame only 1 night. This place is just gorgeous. The rooms & bathrooms are so nicely done and the decor is cozy, quirky & trendy all at once. The kitchen set up is also outstanding. The cottage is unassuming from the front, but once inside, it is really, really lovely. The pub is right next door and here we had the best meal of our NZ sojourn. The chicken gumbo, fantastic, and the steak, cooked to absolute perfection....I would highly recommend this place. Only about a 10 minute direct walk into the main centre, or a pleasant 20 minute meander along the river. We were not bothered by noise from the Pub, but I guess this may be an issue at times..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    27
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I have been traveling for about nine months now and this hotel has been the best value we have come across in our entire trip. Besides being one of the cheapest available accommodations available in Christchurch, the rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable, and full of cozy character. Not to mention that the tariff included self serve breakfast and a free drink upon arrival at the pub next door (which by the way has excellent microbrews and good food too)! Oh yeah and Steve (the owner) and his staff were extra nice and accommodating. Does it get any better?
Back home in the US I shiver to think about how much more a place like this would charge for a night......

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welltraveled08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Stayed here on our 1st night in Christchurch after traveling from the States. Ava was wonderful in our email exchanges & organized a taxi to meet us at the airport. Steve went above & beyond helping us sort out our international mobile issues & connect with our friends. Room was comfortable, breakfast was easy & generous, & location was convenient. Loved the pub next door for a few pints + a nice Sunday meal. Enjoyed our stay & will not hesitate to recommend this spot to our friends!

Not recommended for those who require bathtub or larger bathroom. Everything you need is there but it was very compact (OK for us but maybe not everyone's cup of tea).

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

A good option for a night or two in Christchurch. We had the Avon room, one of currently two in converted building next to Pomeroys pub. The room was fine for the price (120NZD), spacious with high ceilings and a good (if small) shower.

Breakfast goods were on tap in separate room, help yourself. Steve is the owner of the pub and quite a character, very helpful and concerned that his guests are happy. He is currently converting some other rooms in the same building so will have 5 rooms instead of 2. No real impact on us even though the conversion work was ongoing (early December). Work is planned to be complete around end Dec 08.

Location is okay, a pleasant 15 min walk into the centre. Pomeroys pub is a good place to drop in; food good, beer good, even live Irish music when we were there. They have events too that look fun.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retreaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Pomeroy's is one of our fondest memories of our stay in Christchurch! It was the warm hospitality Vikki and Phil extended to us from the moment we walked into their establishment. Our room was quiet, well appointed, and immaculate with some special touches that made you feel right at home. Our first evening we had the complimentary "nibbles" and wine next door in the Brewery. We loved the lively atmosphere with the historic ambience. The close proximity to the downtown, the meandering Avon River and picturesque neighborhoods that surround the B & B were ideal for us as we were on foot. One night we were hoping to find a fish & chip place for dinner, but got back to the B & B without success. Phil not only suggested a place that makes the best fish & chips, but offered to pick up an order for us while he got dinner for him and Vikki. Their friendly Kiwi hospitality went above and beyond, making our stay simply "the best!" Phil very kindly drove us to the airport upon departure, and we have been delighted to be on their mailing list! It is without reservation that we reccommend Pomeroy's to anyone traveling to Christchurch! We have a record of some of our NZ photos on our website: [--]

  • Liked — The owners, Vikki and Phil
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VictorianaAstoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Phil and Vikki, who run the B&B end of Pomeroy's, are the real deal. Kiwis through and through, they will stop at nothing to be sure that you are a satisfied customer. We didn't want to leave......

The room is huge, the bed extremely comfortable, the furniture adds to the ambience of the place, and the bathroom, while tiny, was clean and everything worked as it should.

It's wonderful to get a drink at the end of a hard day's drive. Their recommendation of a dinner venue was top notch. Breakfast was filling and yummy. They had plenty of brochures and information on Christchurch and the surrounding area. We felt very much at home here.

When I found I'd left something behind, and we didn't locate it after driving back and a thorough search, Phil later located it and sent it on to me at our last stop in New Zealand. You can't get service like that in the States, for the most part.

Stay here and be comfortable and relaxed. It's a short walk along the Avon River to Cathedral Square. The Arts Centre is close by, as is the Convention Centre. Why stay in a stuffy hotel when you can chat up the locals?

  • Liked — The hosts - we could have talked to them for a few MORE hours.
  • Disliked — The shower curtain that wrapped around you like a shroud.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 134 in Christchurch
839 reviews
1.0 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 134 in Christchurch
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#5 of 145 in Christchurch
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pomeroy's on Kilmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pomeroy's on Kilmore

Property: Pomeroy's on Kilmore
Address: 284 Kilmore Street | adjacent to Old Brewery Inn, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pomeroy's on Kilmore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Pomeroy's on Kilmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing