We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GREAT place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Milano Motor Lodge
Ranked #49 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Caledonia, Mi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A GREAT place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently spent 5 nights at Milano Motor Lodge for a family get together for the occasion of my Dad's 90th birthday (he and one of my sisters lives in Christchurch), with people from the USA (my wife and I), Australia (my brother and his wife and 2 daughters) and Auckland (my sister and her husband and son and daughter). My wife and I spent 3 nights in Room 4, and then moved for 2 more nights upstairs in Suite 14 with my sister.

Jocelyn is a friendly, welcoming host, and we all had a very enjoyable stay there.

Rooms are very comfortable and clean.

The Milano is conveniently located, close to Carlton Corner in one direction and to Merivale in another.

One word of advice to travellers with computers and lots of photos - turn off iCloud synching for your photos, or you'll find the 1GB of internet disappears all too quickly, although getting another 1GB allowance was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
You are great people to host as well. Thank you for your compliments - glad your dad had a great birthday and appreciate other members of your family's loyalty in staying with us over the years. Nothing better than past guests and family time. Hope we get to host you again. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
29
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I spent a lovely 8 days staying in the care of Jocelyn & Murray.The bed was very comfortable & the room spotlessly clean.It was good to see the gardens & roses so well kept.It was my second visit here. The motel was fully booked all the time |I was there so that is a good recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
It was lovely to have you stay with us again, you are so little trouble, busy all the time with your friends and enjoy our lovely city and surrounds. We hardly know you are here. Really appreciate you taking the time to review our complex. Hope to see you in the future. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Milano Motor Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and feel 'at home' in Christchurch. The rooms are clean, well presented and tastefully decorated. We stayed in a one bedroom with spa and it was a very comfortable place to be. Thank you to Jocelyn and Murray who were extremely welcoming and helpful, only too happy to find out things for us. As visitors in an unfamiliar place, that is so important as everything can be so foreign initially. Milano is well situated and only a short walk to the city centre, attractions, supermarkets and restaurants. You don't need to have a car if staying here. We would highly recommend these places to eat - The House of Lamb, serving the yummiest lamb roast with gourmet potatoes out of a container just down the road, and Le Germain right across the road. This superb French restaurant is a great place for a special dinner. We celebrated our great NZ holiday on our last night!! The scallops were the best! Also recommend the city walking tour, tickets from the iSite. It gave us a wonderful and personal insight to the Christchurch of before and after the earthquake. A great attraction is the Antarctic Centre and a good tip is to plan it for your arrival or departure day. The centre is a short walk from the airport and it has a free shuttle to and from the city. We picked it up on our last day right outside Milano and were able to store our luggage in lockers at the centre. Also purchase tickets for the Antarctic Centre online - they are so much cheaper. Christchurch is a beautiful city and we look forward to revisiting in a few years to see what is has become. It deserves to be reborn! And our place to stay will be …… Milano Motor Lodge. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
So pleased you felt at "home" that makes us happy. We are certainly in a great location for everything and your comments about two of our favourite eating places are so true. Pedro's lamb melts in your mouth and St Germaine's is wonderful for guests looking for a special dine out experience. Your remarks are well thought out and will surely be helpful for other people visiting Christchurch and we hope they will stay with us as well. Many thanks for reviewing us and we look forward to hosting you both again. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hello, we are a family of 5.
The host were very friendly and accommodating.
The unit was reasonably modern, spacious, tidy and clean.
It was quiet and restful even though it was on the main road.
It was on the expensive side though.
Decent value.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valuetraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are extremely lucky that although we are on a main road, we aren't troubled too much by noise. The two bedroom apartment which you had being down the back does allow for a very quiet, private stay.
We look forward to being able to host you again in the future - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We had unit 7 with the spa bath. Well worth while. The unit was very comfortable and the host very good. The location is great and just a short walk to a good cafe, de spa chocolates and just a big further along to the Merrivale mall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
So pleased you were happy with your accommodation, thank you for your comments. The De Spa Chocs are great and so is the Metro Cafe, we are fortunate with our location. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

My work takes me to many countries throughout the world, I found in 2013 this accommodation to be up there internationally for cleanliness, lovely staff and the rooms are very comfortable.
My next visit to Christchurch in July will most definitely be the Milano Motor Lodge.
Thank you so much Jocelyn and Murray . . . Loved it - No complaints from me!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We enjoyed you staying as well, its always nice to have a longer stay guest. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Many thanks for the review, Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the location on Papanui Rd is excellent - 5 minutes walk to Merivale Mall, 10 minutes to the city and close to many restaurants. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and extremely clean. Lovely bathroom and good kitchenette. Jocelyn and Murray are perfect hosts - very helpful but not intrusive. I had 5 weeks staying at Milano and I can honestly say I was sad to leave. The roses are magnificient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed having you stay and hope that you have settled in your home and are enjoying having everything back in order. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#62 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#32 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#39 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot Motor Lodge
Camelot Motor Lodge
#53 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathern Motor Lodge
Strathern Motor Lodge
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Property: Milano Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Papanui Rd | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing