We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a lovely setting”
Review of Milano Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Milano Motor Lodge
Ranked #49 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a lovely setting”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the location on Papanui Rd is excellent - 5 minutes walk to Merivale Mall, 10 minutes to the city and close to many restaurants. The rooms are modern, very comfortable and extremely clean. Lovely bathroom and good kitchenette. Jocelyn and Murray are perfect hosts - very helpful but not intrusive. I had 5 weeks staying at Milano and I can honestly say I was sad to leave. The roses are magnificient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We enjoyed having you stay and hope that you have settled in your home and are enjoying having everything back in order. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
30
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted to find this family operated facility to be maintained in the most tidy fashion. The US hotels could take a lesson from the friendly hosts. The rooms are large but the beds were only queen sized. The kitchenette was well appointed and a flat screen TV in both the living room and bedroom. Dealing with a shower curtain in the jacuzzi tub was a bit of a nuisance and make sure your room is well back from the busy street.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our complex, we appreciate your comments as it is always to get feedback which enables us to improve. Do hope you enjoyed your holiday in New Zealand and that you return in the future. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have recently started a new sales role that requires some travel from Auckland to Christchurch, I was fortunate my company booked my accommodation with Jocelyn and Murray at Milano Motor Lodge in Christchurch, the rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean and it is a pleasure to return to after a day on the road, the little touches of a small chocolate on arrival and biscuits in the rooms is also appreciated as there are times when meals have been skipped, the bed is so comfortable I sleep better at Milano than I do at home. I have since stayed a second time at Milano and I would not stay anywhere else in Christchurch

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tui K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time our of your busy day to write us a review, we do appreciate them and are very happy to host you when you are in Christchurch. Its is nice to know our efforts are appreciated and we love the loyalty of our corporates. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, the location is fantastic right near shops, restaurants and the centre of town. Free DVD's to keep you entertained and the place is really clean. They even help with scales for weighing your bags before heading to the airport!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for writing the review we do appreciate them and also enjoyed your family group staying with us. Our location is a plus especially as the city rebuilds as most things are located handy in Merivale. We'd love to host you and your family again. Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have been staying at Milano for numerous years and don't intend to change while Jocelyn and Murry are here. It is nice to know that in the Winter the unit will be lovely and cosy. The units are of a nice decor, Spotless and good quality linen.
Jocelyn and Murry make you feel wellcome but aren't intrusive. Last trip my car battery was flat and Jocely dropped me to my first appointment and then attended to the AA servicemen. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the review, our regular corporates are very important to us and we appreciate the loyalty. All our guests enhance our lives and increase our knowledge of not only NZ but other parts of the world as well and we really enjoy it. - Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like many others worldwide like to know what I am getting for my accommodation dollar. My wife and I have stayed at MILANO for some years now, and its always the same...spotlessly clean.. well serviced...with a comfortable bed and a quiet nights sleep due to its construction and location....Thus our five star rating. You wont be disappointed no matter where you come from in the world. Papanui Road is quiet, yet close to the city center....and a short hop to the airport.

We have in earlier years stayed in older Bealey Ave motels ( not far away)..however moved years ago due to traffic noise and older motels...So there you have it folks..my first trip advisor contribution....Have a good holiday. PS the owners are open and honest as well.! Rob S...Kerikeri New Zealand.

Room Tip: Woops..There is no restaurant however the system did not permit me to make a correction...food of al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Manager at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Nothing better for us than repeat business and we enjoy catching up with you when you are in town. Thank you for taking the time to review us, we look forward to your next visit - All the best for 2014, Jocelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Canterbury, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very nice motel. The welcome from the lady at the front desk was excellent. Had a 1 bedroom with spa unit upstairs. This unit was excellent, very clean and lovely furniture. There was a nice touch with some welcome lollies and biscuits. Thank you for a great a great two night stay.

Room Tip: We had a spa unit upstairs and this was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tui3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano2006, Owner at Milano Motor Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
So pleased you had a great stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our complex - it enables us to know what our guests like and is very encouraging for our staff who work extremely hard to do a meticulous job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#63 of 144 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#33 of 144 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#40 of 144 in Christchurch
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathern Motor Lodge
Strathern Motor Lodge
#12 of 105 in Christchurch
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#26 of 144 in Christchurch
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milano Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milano Motor Lodge

Property: Milano Motor Lodge
Address: 87 Papanui Road | Merivale 8014, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Milano Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly rated 4 star plus complex. Great location, Great service, Free WiFi, close to City Centre. Recently updated, modern and comfortable accommodation. Short walk to Merivale Mall,boutique shops. Great selection of retaurants. Walk to city centre, Hagley Park Botanical Gardens, Museum and Restart City Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Milano Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing