We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience we will be repeating!”
Review of Nobanno

Nobanno
Ranked #4 of 1,007 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A unique experience we will be repeating!”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We had checked out restaurants on trip advisor before we left for our holiday to Christchurch & found Nobanno with great reviews so we had to try it.
We are so glad we did.
The staff were great explaining the whole story behind the cuisine, that they are Bangladeshi & not Indian as many people think, the different way they flavour the food & then the waiter went through the specials.
I had the Badam Beef which was melt in your mouth, so tasty (they are right about the difference to Indian) & my partner had the Palong Chingri (a prawn curry dish with herbs & spinach). we also had garlic naan bread which my partner used to mop up all his sauce at the end of his meal.
Normally we love indian food as we really like our spices however we are now converted as this was 2 of the best curries we have EVER tasted.
See you next time we are in Christchurch!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    94
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUPREME Not to be missed”
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Unique Indian, mild in spice the curry of Lamb, pumpkin and mustard seed was enjoyed by those who love all Indian food and those who are timid to spice. All of their dishes are mild but so mindfully flavoured and well prepared you wont miss the heat. We had some first timers in our group and this was a real treat for all. A week later we are still reminiscing about Nobanno and it's still the leader of three weeks of a culinary tour of NZ. Wish they were on the North Island.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkyBrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We like Indian food but am glad we tried a Bangladeshi restaurant for a change. As others have written, the staff are careful to explain the point of difference in their food. We found that our meals were every bit as good as promised. Expect spicy, flavoursome dishes without the heat of chilli. The waitstaff worked hard to please us too. I hope Nobanno opens in other centres. They will have my business.

  • Visited July 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiOnAPlatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What an absolute find, thanks to trip advisor.”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

1/1/11......What an absolute find, thanks to trip advisor. The chefs pride themselves on not using chilli, but the food was still spicy and very flavoursome. We had complimentary champagne too as it was New Years day! The service was fab, we were waited by a lovely, friendly helpful chap.....definately would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value "real" food”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We'd echo all the previous positive comments - we went because of trip advisor and it did exactly as it said it would on the tin.
Beautifully cooked to order food (so don't expect it to arrive in two minutes), lovely subtle spicing and wonderful flavours.
Friendly, helpful staff, really at pains to ensure you understand the ethos and make the right food decision.
Decor quite dark, almost nightclubby (not in bad way).
Felt pretty casual in style terms - nobody was treating it as fine dining, but it wasn't in any way scruffy.
Truly good value for money.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keystonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing