We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobanno

Nobanno
Ranked #4 of 966 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went here for my birthday and was given a free bottle of wine at the end of our meal to either drink there or take home (we took home) and a $10 voucher to use on our next visit. The food doesn't look fabulous but the taste and flavours are out of this world. The owner gives you a bit of history on Bengalese food and its ingredients before you order, which is very helpful.
We enjoyed our experience so much that my husband and I returned for dinner on Christmas Day. The only thing we were a little disappointed with was everybody else in the restaurant got a mango type mousse as one of the desserts and we got a meringue basket- neither of us like meringue but love mango and other people got a type of cake with their coffee, this we didn't get at all. But overall we are very impressed with the food and service and will return again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    90
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Memorable Dining experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was a great experience for me and my husband to dine in Nobanno. Our host Christopher was so passionate about the food and dishes. The service is amazing with a personnal attention to each dish served on the table. We went back again to the resturant on new years eve for another wonderful meal. The menu is good with a lot of vegetarian options. Would recommned the resturant to all my fellow travllers. Very good for families or couples or friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PreetiDahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Terrific meal”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I don't pretend to be an expert in Bengali food but we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. In fact the food was so tasty we all ended up over-eating! The chef-owner obviously is very proud of his recipes and for good reason.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Much, much more than a tasty, good meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very thrilled you've reopened!

We visited tonight for the first time since the earthquakes shook you out of the CBD and, as expected, enjoyed an evening of terrific food and excellent service.

You guys continue to strike a great balance between exotic, authentic and modern, making a meal at Nobanno a rare treat in Christchurch.

Best of success in your new location and keep on delivering the best

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly good!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been hearing about this restaurant for some time and have taken the opportunity to visit while visiting in Christchurch. It has certainly lived up to its reputation for excellent food and friendly staff. Sharing the entrees among the group was a good way to sample many of the dishes. The special mains were enjoyed by all as well. The berry cheesecake was the perfect mix of fruit and curds and not too sweet or heavy to finish off the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alreoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing