We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Memorable Dining experience”
Review of Nobanno

Nobanno
Ranked #5 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Memorable Dining experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

It was a great experience for me and my husband to dine in Nobanno. Our host Christopher was so passionate about the food and dishes. The service is amazing with a personnal attention to each dish served on the table. We went back again to the resturant on new years eve for another wonderful meal. The menu is good with a lot of vegetarian options. Would recommned the resturant to all my fellow travllers. Very good for families or couples or friends.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PreetiDahiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    92
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Terrific meal”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I don't pretend to be an expert in Bengali food but we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. In fact the food was so tasty we all ended up over-eating! The chef-owner obviously is very proud of his recipes and for good reason.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Much, much more than a tasty, good meal”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Very thrilled you've reopened!

We visited tonight for the first time since the earthquakes shook you out of the CBD and, as expected, enjoyed an evening of terrific food and excellent service.

You guys continue to strike a great balance between exotic, authentic and modern, making a meal at Nobanno a rare treat in Christchurch.

Best of success in your new location and keep on delivering the best

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mouth-wateringly good!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I have been hearing about this restaurant for some time and have taken the opportunity to visit while visiting in Christchurch. It has certainly lived up to its reputation for excellent food and friendly staff. Sharing the entrees among the group was a good way to sample many of the dishes. The special mains were enjoyed by all as well. The berry cheesecake was the perfect mix of fruit and curds and not too sweet or heavy to finish off the meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alreoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Exceptional flavours and Balance”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Out of pure chance we stumbled upon Nobanno. When we saw Bengali Cuisine we thought
" gotta give it a go." We were delighted with friendly service and a stunning array of dishes on the menu. Both meals were immaculate in balance and flavour. Very light and refreshing for curries yet had a very different appeal. Subtle yet packed with flavour. Exquisite naans and many rice options that complement the meals. I was shocked at just smelling my dish. The Spicy Garlic Murghai is a must!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobanno also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Nobanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing