We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee House - not the best service”
Review of The Villas

The Villas
Ranked #42 of 1,006 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coffee House - not the best service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went as a large group to the Coffee House for breakfast last week. This was my third visit in the last few months all of which have been disappointing.
This visit was unfortunately no different. While the decor in the new part of the restaurant has been nicely done and the coffee was good the food was only passable with overcooked eggs and undercooked hash browns. All this would have been fine, but the service is only ever passable and as usual the person at the counter seemed very put out at having to take our money at the end.
Nice environment - time to pick up your game Coffee House!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    212
    69
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great selection of cakes and food, good service.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great to pop in for late night coffee & cake in the central city when so much else has gone. Good service and a great selection of food. They had lovely cakes including a good gluten free range. For another meal we had there, the food was very good also. Their food is reasonable value for money - about right for the quality it is.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moriusaq, Nordgronland, Greenland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best cafés in town”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

High quality food, great coffee selection. The negatives are that the serving staff can vary in quality and the seating is a little crowded. Nice atmosphere though. I have been there several times. The duck yellow curry is the best I have had in NZ.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value and good food.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have never had a bad experience at this restaurant. They have an interesting selection of nicely cooked food on the menu. The portions are generous and the service is friendly, informative and not intrusive. I'm gluten intolerant but this has never been a problem and I've always had several choices available.The selection of ice creams on the dessert menu is particularly delicious. We were there early before going to the theatre but it was no problem getting our meal promptly even though there were 6 of us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeyand123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Got to enjoy the new upstairs!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely meal on Valentines Day - opted to go with a la carte instead of the special menu they had designed and was delighted. The wrapped parcel of fish was devine! I like the relaxed atmosphere of the The Coffee House and the new extension upstairs next door was brand new so great to check that out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PauleLec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villas also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing