We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would come back”
Review of The Villas

The Villas
Ranked #33 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Would come back”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went there twice, once for breakfast which was very nice, and again for the farewell (from New Zealand) dinner, where both of us had their lamb shoulder with kumara.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    205
    66
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great lisst place”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had dinner with a colleague here on the second night in town. I had the chicken breast and he had the lamb. Extremely nice food, good size servings, and reasonably priced for NZ. Creme Brulee for desert topped it all off very nicely. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichardLOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the name - they serve more than just coffee!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was recommend this restaurant by one of the I-Centre staff and enjoyed it so much, we ate their 2 nights on the trot.

High quality, restaurant standard food which is really tasty with fab desserts to follow.

You can either have the full works, or they're happy for you to pop in for a cup of coffee and one of their cakes - even in the evening.

Would highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filthy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We stayed in CHCH for 3 nights and ate here 3 times !”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place is a great find ! We came across it by accident walking back to our hotel on our first night in NZ, we'd already eaten and they were just closing up for the night as we looked at the menu outside. A friendly waitress came out to take in the A board and said pop in for breakfast so we did. It was dam good. We went back for dinner that night and loved every bit of it. Its a bit quirky, the staff are really good fun and the food is great. We always try and have a laugh with the staff as we both worked in Catering and know what its like. We had a great meal and were the last to leave after sitting with our waitress over a glass of wine whilst she told us all about CHCH. We went back on our last night and had another great evening. GO HERE, have a beer and a steak and you'll have a nice night. Its not a 5 star hotel restaurant but I'd say the food is better ! and the value for money is awesome !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyjay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A lovely last night in NZ”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Coffee House is located in an old house that has been converted into a restaurant. There is indoor seating as well as an enclosed outdoor area for dining. The atmosphere is very nice, and the food, especially the lamb, was wonderful for our last night in New Zealand. Reservations are a good idea since there are a limited number of restaurants open near the center of Christchurch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villas also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing