We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in town”

Under The Red Verandah
Ranked #81 of 1,007 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This place has the best breakfasts. Corn fritters or Brusetta are my fav! Great on a warm day if you can sit outside, but even if it's not, the verandah is perfect and covered in.

In a random wee part of town, but worth the trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank emvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    74
    13
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Under the "New" Red Veranda has had a few earthquake hiccups over the last 3 years but the food and service has remained top notch. we visited for brunch recently, sat outside in the courtyard and had a wonderful start to the day. Recommendable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the food”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had read afew reviews and we thought we would check this place out for breakfast. We thought the coffee was delicious however they got my order wrong so while my partner was eating I was waiting for my breakfast. This didn't really matter but he was almost finished his breakfast by the time mine arrived - the food looked good but my meal was so salty it was almost unpalatable, this is probably the worst breakfast I've ever been given. I was really disappointed as we were looking for a great local breakfast place but as this was our first visit it will also be our last. One redeeming quality of the cafe is that one coffee was taken off our bill however it was too little too late.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loo_squinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the food but.....”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I've been there quite a few times. The food is consistently fantastic unfortunately the staff are not :-( . They could remember to smile, say please and thank you and don't chew gum, be interested in your customers they are who end up paying you :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 14u2try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disapppointed”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had heard a lot about this cafe but it didn't live up to its reputation. The waiting staff were pleasant but seemed too casually dressed and scruffy. The food service was slow. The food was adequate but overpriced. Even worse we realised later that that we had been over-charged -perhaps paying for something which had gone to another table. We shall not go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing