We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lakes Restaurant

The Lakes Restaurant
Ranked #348 of 956 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having dined at the restaurant before we were eagerly anticipating a return visit.
Sadly we were very disappointed with our dining experience this time.
It was a Monday night so not the busiest night of the week,so hard to understand how it took close to an hour and a half for our meal to turn up after ordering .The steaks when they turned up were overcooked ,dry and cold
The wait staff apologised for the delay shortly before the meals were delivered ,and then we never saw them again to discuss our concerns.Eventually they came to remove the plates and we discussed how we were disappointed at the dining experience.Graciously our glass of wine was not charged for,but we were left feeling uncomfortable because we had complained about the slackness.
Previously we have had outstanding meals at this restaurant and enjoy the beautiful views of the 18th fairway.
.With the NZ BMW golf open in less than two weeks ,we hope they accept this criticism as constructive so the issues can be sorted out before the big event.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whakatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Sunday lunch; group of 8. Lovely setting with friendly staff however the main course was slightly underwhelming and the desserts were overpriced ($16) and very average. Alcohol was also expensive. When I made the booking over the phone the (foreign) gentleman had to be corrected twice (regarding day and meal) and even after I repeated the phone number four times, he still recorded it incorrectly - frustrating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Enjoyed the evening. We were last minute guests just before final call but a table was set for us and were happy. The hotel porter made it all happen for us, very appreciative.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 800World_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Try it-! Worth the drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We ended up staying here unexpectedly and this restaurant was an added bonus! The fish of the day was stunning and the stuffed chicken breast was well received- service was faultless on a busy Saturday night. This place must be one of chch best secrets. You locals must try! Thanks.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, good food, mixed service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Our party of five dined here on a fabulous sunny Monday lunchtime. The venue and setting is stunning. The lunch menu okay and certainly very affordable. Food was good quality. Wines are pricey but this is a pretty upmarket establishment so expected that. Some staff we encountered were exceptional, but unfortunately our waitress was inexperienced and although friendly, pretty slaph dash and made a lot of silly mistakes that combined, suggested she was pre-occupied and resulting in below par service in any setting, but well short of the mark from that which I would expected from a place of this calibre, (drinks and meals to the wrong diners, pouring wine in only 3 of 4 glasses, spilling wine on the table, not returning to check how our meal was, not enquiring if we required extra drinks, dessert, coffee? and all without apology or even apparently noticing anything amiss. The restaurant was certainly not busy so that disappointed. I'd return, but not to mark a significant occasion and certainly not for expensive evening dining, as the service missed the mark in making us feel special.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lakes Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Lakes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing