We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special ocasions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Restaurant & Bar

The Bridge Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #237 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dunsandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special ocasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Everytime I go to this Cafe & Bar which is twice a year it is a very pleasant place and relaxed. The meal is always nice.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    15
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
379 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“never to return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

there was nothing good about our visit to this place. we decided to head out there for dinner one night and we were told that we were not allowed to eat the dinner food any more only bar food even though it was not even 8pm yet and still many people dinning. the only reason we decided to try was we had a voucher and were then told that we could only use it on 3 of the bar food choices. the bar snack food we got was $21 each and was so disgusting that left it all except the chips, it was luke warm and looked like someone had just thrown whatever they could find on it. we were not allowed to even sit in the dining area so were left alone to deal with the people drinking in a far away corner and the service was non existent not even a water......glad now that we didn't pay the expensive prices for their main meals if that is the sort of food that they are serving.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vampslayer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A bridge to far!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

This place should be great but unfortunately it is not. We have tried it several times at different times of the day. as it is our local each time hoping for improvement but it never happens!
The food is basic pub grub and very average but it's prices are not!
I found the wait staff very friendly but the management to casual for my liking. We went for an early
Lunch one weekday only to be put off by the coffee machine being caked with dried milk and surrounded by the spill offs of more than a few coffees before we got there .
I watched a family crimge at some language being used in the bar clearly heard in the restaurent . Not the owners doing . But worth being aware of!
It's setting is wonderful and potentially could be great , but it's food needs improving and even at half it's price we will continue to walk on by!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Prebbletonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
215 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“OK food a bit on the expensive side”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

Basically a pub with a restaurant in a side room. If you are happy to pay $50 a head for pub food then you will probably be happy here.

Food was good but expensive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Great Food And Friendly Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We visit The Bridge often and are always impressed with the quality of food, the portion sizes (huge) and the friendliness of the staff. Old country pub feel with city selection and quality. Cosy in the Winter, with a lovely beer garden/outdoor seating in the Summer. Great for families with kids and heaps of parking. Highly recommend the place :)

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank 2Lillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Rolleston, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Bridge Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing