We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”

Spagalimis Pizzeria
Ranked #737 of 978 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a shame.
Visiting NZ for years. Loved Spags on Victoria, closed this visit, hence tried Spags on Riccarton.
Very disappointed. Kumera chips hard, luke warm and burnt all at the same time...sent them back. Excuse was 'diferent supplier'.
Pizzas weren't the normal chunky, meaty toppings we normally associate with Spag's pizzas. Looked like minced frozen toppings.
Very little taste.
We asked if the recipe had been changed. Response was that the bacon was from a different supplier.
Can only hope the quality and taste returns, otherwise cant see the place continuing.
Perhaps if Victoria Street eventually reopens, things will improve.
Hope so!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service food terrible”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Pizza dropped in sauce and just a couple of bits of burned veges tasted awful pasta was bloody awful staff didn't give a toss this was Riccarton rd store

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rodneyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Spagalimis on Riccarton road looks inviting from the outside , so me and my wife decided to dine there one evening .
The decor was cold and there was no body there so no atmosphere.
We though if the food and service was good then so what.
The staff were useless , bringing the mains out and leaving the starter dishes on the table leaving no room.
Staff were happy to talk to friends who walked in and we felt we were ignored.
Food was below average so won't return.! Disappointed agin.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great service. Staff were friendly and attentive. Kids packs were fantastic. Meals were delicious. Food was lovely and a good price for families. The waitress was helpful with kids menus etc. Desserts were a little disappointing but overall we had a good experience. Would recommend to friends and families

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Span2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small sized mediums”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went there with a grab one voucher, was unsure if we were to sit on our own or were to be seated by staff. Atmosphere was good and wait staff were ok but nothing special. We got a medium pizza- the venison one. The pizza itself was ok but the size of the pizza was ridiculously small and there was a large jump between large and medium. I went home hungry and disappointed and wished I had just got a 5 dollar pizza hut pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jill0791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spagalimis Pizzeria also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Spagalimis Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing