We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pegasus Arms came highly recommended by a friend”

Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #80 of 977 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand, International, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Pegasus Arms came highly recommended by a friend”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A friend told me to be sure to check out the Pegasus Arms when I was in CHCH.

On the good side, it is nicely located beside the river, the decor was pleasant enough and the waitress was friendly.

On the downside was the food. I'm not much for black pepper. I just had a burger with chips and a side salad. The burger seemed like it was coated in pepper - the fries came with pepper already on them - even the salad tasted like it had lots of pepper in the dressing. I took about three bites of the burger a couple of fries and a quick taste of the salad.

If each of the parts of the meal came without this "coating" I would probably have enjoyed the meal. A piece of advice for the cook that night? Give your patrons the chance to add what they want to taste.

the beer was good though - no pepper!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    66
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
112 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Lamb and Steak in a Pub Setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Handled a large party without an issue, attentive service and a menu for the meat lover. They were featuring specials of roast beef as well as roast lamb. I had a "king" steak that would rival and top end steakhouse in the US at a much more reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So glad we found this place!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stumbled onto the Pegasus Arms after exploring the Re-Start area of Christchurch. What a find! The service was friendly, fast and efficient and the food was delicious. Portions were generous and the price was reasonable. We sat inside as we had kids with us but the beer garden (with its pool table) looked very inviting as well. The staff went out of their way to help, even offering to get us a map when we asked directions to the nearest supermarket. Thank you so much Pegasus Arms!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boyce1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, terrible service!!!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being from Christchurch I have been into the Pegasus Arms on a number of occassions. I've always had a good time there and never had any issues.......that was until I met a doorman that I hope I never run into again!!! It was Saturday night (April 27th) and my friends and I were celebrating one of my final nights out (I'm leaving town). Our first choice for a bar to have a beer at was the Pegasus Arms, even though we'd had dinner in Belfast (on the other side of town). Without boring you with the details the doorman (didn't catch his name but he was wearing a turban) left us standing on the footpath for over 20 minutes giving us the excuse "I have to wait for the bar manager before I let you in). It was not overly busy inside, and while we stood there in the cold a number of patrons left the bar.

I asked to speak to the Manager and he told me no. We left (with a distinct sour taste in our mouths) and I told the chap he should really think about what this kind of behaviour does to the reputation of the establishment.

We won't be going back there again, thee are too many good bars and resataurants in Christchurch!! Someone sack that door man!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaronm255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way more than expected!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We are traveling from Australia and only stopped in Christchurch for one night. The girl at the hotel said to stop at the Pegasus Arms for a beer. We expected a small, local pub (as the town is not built up at the moment.) We got incredible service, food, and beers. Could not be happier! Thank you Pegasus Arms! We will be back next time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Pegasus Arms Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing