We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldnt eat it”

Myhanh Vietnamese Restaurant
Ranked #257 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldnt eat it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We ordered takeaway for three - have had a lot of Vietnamese food both in Asia and Australia - we value its freshness ,flavour and lightness.Our order was - Fresh summer rolls - average.Whole steamed fish - came covered with a strange very oily sauce.Ordered Ginger spring onion squid - we actually got scallops - only saw this when we got home - again came with the same oily sauce.Vegetarian salad - a container of rice noodles with a hint of green vegetable and no flavour.The meal was tasted and not eaten - a waste of $66 - would never return.Vietnamese food it is not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gamuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a very tasty food joint. Good quality food, very reasonably priced. Presentation of the food is great too. Staff are very friendly too. Would confidently recommend this place to my fellow travellers

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The food at this restaurant is very tasty indeed. I have returned here on several occasions and always found the food to be of the same high standard. This restaurant is not flash by any standards but the price is right and the food is very authentic.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty Vietnamese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

After being away from Christchurch and returning for a holiday we where both excited for some Vietnamese! We even went back to Myhanh two days in a row! Great meals - I recommend the crispy squid and all of the salads. Very spicy and so tasty. We tried the quail on the second visit as the people we where with loved it - great taste, but maybe better on chicken - easier to eat off the bones? This is a bare bones restaurant - go for the food, not the interior!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rach1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not quite like Hanoi, but close.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Vietnamese food has a slight Western slant, but is still very acceptable. Service was polite and fast, and the manager/chef was happy to talk about his food and advise where to find authentic ingredients in town. We will certainly return next time we are in Christchurch

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwijock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myhanh Vietnamese Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Myhanh Vietnamese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing