We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Christchurch”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Christchurch”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Indian restaurant in Christchurch for both dinning in and takeaways. Excellent food and the presentation is great. The service is excellent even when the restaurant is busy. A lovely atmosphere as well. We have dinned there as a couple and with a group and it stays consistent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    48
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Superb place to dine with your family or entertain friends.This place ticks all the boxes. I have had the pleasure of dining at this iconic family restaurants for years and can't stop telling everyone about this place. From the minute you walk in your are given the royal treatment. Food, service and the ambiance is best best in the town.

It's a must if you have not been there before. As they say DO TRY IT

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Flawless - highly recommended”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

After becoming addicted to Indian cuisine back home and traveling India for two months I had to try this out. I got the full course and every single dish was suberb from the samosas to the bhuna to the kolfi. Good servings, delicious and the staff were excellent also. For the price too it's a no brainer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cianwhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and i dined here recently, we had a lovely meal, and in our opinion the best curry we have tasted so far in Christchurch. It wasn't oily or greasy like a lof of indian restaurants i have experienced. The food was very tasty, the negatives were that the chicken dish we ordered did not have a lot of chicken in, it was mainly shredded and very finely. The lamb dish was excellent and plenty of meat.

I had very nice evening and the staff were very nice as well, it was a shame we were seated at the bar area, as i did request a table away from the bar area, as its too busy with people back and forth to the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have enjoyed many dinners at the Maharaja since it reopened and sampled a wide range of dishes from their menu. Each time, myself and those dining with me comment that there is something extra special about the taste and quality of the food. The staff are always happy to help and very professional. Glad to have another excuse to eat there this week, looking forward to it already!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nzgal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing