We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Saigon Restaurant

Little Saigon Restaurant
Ranked #695 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went here as a last minute choice given it was a Friday night and all other places we tried were fully booked. We ordered an entree & 3 mains to share between 4 people. The vegetarian main wasn't available so we had to change our selection. The entree arrived with pork when we'd ordered vegetarian so we had to send that back. We also ordered the Vietnamese beer but told it wasn't available. Finally tried to order a traditional dessert but again not available.
Food was ok but nothing to rave about. I'm a little jaded as having been to Vietnam and now any restaurant I go to in NZ just isn't the same.
We paid and left around 10pm but had noticed that our waiter had packed up and left before we were finished. Strange experience and not likely to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    8
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food cheap and cheerful atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food is really tasty and they cater for vegetarians very well. There is a lot of choice from yummy fresh tasty looking options.
The food tastes as though it has only been prepared when you place your order (not like it has been sitting around waiting for customers all night).
The food is very quick to come to the table as well.
This is a very simply decorated restaurant, there is lots of space for large parties and the portion sizes cater for sharing.
I read a number of reviews complaining about the service and we never experienced a problem (possibly also because we are not too lazy and were prepared to get up and go to the counter to ask for simple things like extra wine glasses/soy sauce). If you are looking for a 5 start dining experience where the waiter pulls the chair out for you and places the napkin on your lap this is not the place (but that is also reflected in the cheap prices of the meals).
I will defiantly be going back here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Slothie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't even make it inside”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Terrible phone manner. Asked if we could make a booking and all we got was "depends...probably not aye." WHAT A JOKE.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryJface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Alright I guess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Was expecting a genuine vietnamese experience as had heard some ok things but I found it just like a watered down version of chinese food.Don't get me wrong it tasted ok but it wasn't really what i expected.If i want kiwi versions of asain food IE Sweet and Sour pork and Chicken and cashew i could just go to a chinese place

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MontyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Have eaten here twice now, the first time was really very good but the second visit was just OK nothing special and found the food lacked a lot of flavour, not sure why it was so different second time round, but it made enough impact not to be in a hurry to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise_H46H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Saigon Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Little Saigon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing