We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ground Floor Cafe

Ground Floor Cafe
Ranked #126 of 966 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice cafe”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

great spot. excellent coffee. knowledgable staff. fresh treats that's what makes a great cafe. make sure and order an americano.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank NimNada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    5
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast so good we came back for lunch!!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We visited CHCH for 4 days just before Christmas 2012 - were recommended by local friends to go to the GFC for breakfast. The Eggs Benedict were outstanding 4 days in a row and we enjoyed breakfast so much we came back for lunch one day and had the Thai Beef Salad - wonderful!

Coincidentally friends from Melbourne also in CHCH at the same time had brunch there and agreed the GFC is one of the best they have experienced.

Great service, great food, friendly management, and great value. Well done GFC team, it doesn't get any better. Just wish you were located in Brisbane!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lambs Fry & Bacon! Say no more!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

IN Christchurch for a quick visit with youngest daughter who is coeliac (gluten free) and this had been recommended as a good try for her. They served her a lovely Eggs Benedict on GF Bun and I had the Decadent Lambs fry and bacon with the most delicious mushrooms! Seriously if my daughter had let me and the place had less people I would have licked the Bowl!!
Attentive service without being over the top. Nice atmosphere with a good mix of people popping in. Not loud like some places where you have to lean in just to hear the person across the table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boardboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
277 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed two breakfast over consecutive days here. Great service from friendly staff. First morning I had the homemade musli that was delicious. The next morning gave in and had bacon and eggs. Again a great choice. Both mornings I washed these down with a very well made chai latte. Great place.

Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New owners apparently...?”
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We hadn't been here for a couple of years as it had been so bad on our last visit but we heard there were new owners so gave it a go.

Service was excellent-helpful & speedy wait staff & food came out in reasonable time.

I had corn fritters w roast tomato & poached eggs-all pretty good but corn fritters a bit soggy in the middle/under cooked. My friend had fried eggs, bacon & toast-said also pretty good but toast was "hard going"-very hearty bread, just over toasted. Pet hate........butter served in those little plastic square Craig's things-lazy & tacky...let down the otherwise lovely presentation.

Now, the coffee! Boy did it pack a punch! Next time I'll ask for a single shot in my tulip flat white ;o)

Overall an enjoyable breakfast-would go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNZL0037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Floor Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ground Floor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing