We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beers, good service, not so good food”

Bealey's Speights Ale House
Ranked #144 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good beers, good service, not so good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

After a rave review by a young woman at the Info center we "scored" reservations on a busy Friday night. Our server was very helpful but there were so many people it took almost an hour to get our food! The other couple with us enjoyed their lamb shanks but our chicken and Brie in phyllo dough was more dough and not much chicken. The servers wine suggestions were excellent!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    143
    67
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As usual food is always too much to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

When will we learn we should not order and entre and and a main!

It was a bit noisy, it was a quiz night, but if I wanted a quiet place we should have gone somewhere else, so no complaints.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I have dined here now on a couple of different occasions and the service leaves much to be desired. Service is extremely slow for ordering drinks and meals and the meals take forever .When the food does arrive it is of good quality so is a pity about how long it takes

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

A good pub and restaurant with a good selection of Speights beer and a great out door deck area.The staff are very friendly as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice pub; decent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My wife went with bangers n mash, I had the venison. She was happy with her meal, I was VERY happy with mine. Speights ale was also quite good. The cost was very reasonable!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pactrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bealey's Speights Ale House also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bealey's Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing