We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare basics”
Review of The Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garden Hotel
Ranked #109 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a large budget motel popular for tour groups. We were not on a tour stayed several nights.

Room was clean to start but only towels cleaned daily, and beds pulled up,roughly. Bathroom was not cleaned nor dirty crockery washed.

We were promised 1 hour free wi per day, when first voucher ran out reception refused to provide new voucher. Complementary milk only provided for first day, had to be purchased for making tea when it had run out.

Restaurant food was very poor breakfast was appalling . Toast was stale. We did not eat here again. Restaurant kept hours for tour groups and had stricter hours.

Location good and within walking distance of shopping centre with quality eateries. Motel is budget price so popular. Reception staff not helpful. We would never stay or eat here again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Front Office Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your stay at the Garden Hotel was un-enjoyable.

Thank you for bringing these complaints to our attention so we can rectify the situation.

Housekeeping has been advised to take more care with room services; our room services do not include cleaning dishes in a motel room with cooking facilities.

Wi-Fi and milk is complimentary on check in only and clearly states this on our sign at reception and the in room compendium. Internet plans and pricings are also included on signage/ compendium.

We have discussed with the owner and he agreed to amend our policy. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and we now offer; x1 milk complimentary per day upon request.
Wi-Fi voucher of x1 hour or less; is complimentary once per day upon request.

Restaurant complaints have been passed onto restaurant management regarding breakfast. A buffet style breakfast is subject to availability. Restaurant is unable to offer breakfast at a later time in the morning due to the restaurant opening at 11.30am for lunch sittings. The Restaurant is not just for tours; it is a popular buffet restaurant for lunch and dinner, in Christchurch for families, elderly and large groups.

All food is prepared fresh per sitting and is kept in warming trays. This may explain why the toast wasn’t to your standard. We do offer continental breakfast delivered to your room as another option and have a café onsite available for light food fare from 9am – 4pm.

It is unfortunate that reception staff were found to be unhelpful as we pride ourselves on customer service and staff concerned will be reminded of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I chose to stay here because I needed to be reasonably close to the Burwood Hospital, but as it is not particularly close and I needed a car to get to the Hospital, I wish I had chosen to stay elsewhere.

I stayed in a motel unit, and did not use the restaurant facilities. Positive features are that it is very quiet, its location on a main route into town is convenient, it is easy to find from the airport or road north, is close to a mall, and next door to a liquor shop.

Negatives... the large sliding doors open out onto the shared car parks so to get any natural light you lose all privacy. Once the curtains are closed the lighting in the unit is awful (apart from the bathroom) - flickering halogen lights and dim wall lights that make reading impossible. The bedding was terribly stained, the couch ripped, the bathroom shower had a very strange arrangement of wooden slats in the base and the dishes were greasy. There was a tour group staying one night and members ran around yahooing and banging on doors. I know this isn't the motel's fault, but be aware that groups stay and the inevitable pack mentality comes out. One nice touch was that newspapers were delivered but they blow away from the doorstep.

Upon checking in there was noone on duty and I had to ask someone in the cafe to help me. I wasn't offered other services such as internet access, or told about the restaurant, or told what to do in case of an earthquake. Not all visitors to Christchurch read the in-room guide. I didn't feel at all welcomed.

This was a really down-maret experience that could be improved by new furnishings and bedding, installation of livable lighting and better atention to kitchen cleaning. No, I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Front Office Manager at The Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Garden Hotel welcomes any constructive feedback, we are sorry to hear that your experience here was un-enjoyable.
Given the circumstances in Christchurch city, we are currently the only hotel/ motel open on the east side of town that is close to Burwood Hospital.
The particular room type you are referring to, offers either sliding doors that open onto a small courtyard area, or lawn area. Rooms that open to lawn areas tend to be more private.
We have implemented improvements to rooms which include;
Triple sheeting with new bedding and upgraded couches in rooms, wooden slats are provided in the showers to prevent slips.
A new House keeping system has also been implemented to ensure that rooms are double checked for cleanliness. Newspapers are now delivered with rubber bands around them, so no more runaway pages. We have a phone on us at all times for all departments to contact us if Reception is required at the front desk.
Signage is always provided when a receptionist is unavailable; due to the busy nature of our job we may be from time to time called to assist a guest and cannot always be present at the desk. I assure you that we are not away for long periods of time.
In each room the compendiums do provide information about our facilities as well as a map that shows evacuation areas and information pertaining to earthquake evacuation procedures. We have found at check in that guests are often overwhelmed with information regarding earthquakes and facilities. As such prefer to call us direct from room or refer to the compendium. We do also have quick reference sheets located in each room that provides that information - for those that prefer not to read the compendium.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went for Sunday lunch smorgasbord, found to be below average. Service slack. Food below average. Lighting above table flickers all the time, seems all the lights were the same. Would avoid this place if I can

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ajhacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for Two nights over the weekend.

The accommodation here is what is rated, it's average. It's no Palace, but it's neither a brothel.Me and my friend arrived late, and we found our keys were plastered to the window. Which is fine, but could of easily been taken by passer buys if given the opportunity,

We stayed in Room 211, and for under $100 a night, it did it's job. The room is reasonably spacious, and beds made well, there is storage facilities, and limited Sky TV (pay TV). The Bathroom was well cleaned, and has a great shower unit. The kitchenette doesn't provide full cooking amenities, but at $85, we didn't expect that. There is a court yard out the main front doors, ample car parking, which makes accessibility great, but if your driving a larger car or a SUV, do be careful of other cars around you as I had to manoeuvre out very cautiously.

Upon the second night we stayed here, we stayed in room 315, known as the "deluxe" suites, for an extra $15, there wasn't alot of additional amenities, infact, it was a downgrade, no sky television, no sink for the kitchen, and no sofa/couches. The view is of the rest of the hotel and the pool in which they are constructing. If you are a smoker, you are to smoke outside the Balcony which overlooks council flats and some abandoned houses, not the most pleasant view in the world. The rooms look dated, and could do with a bit of sprucing up, our window had cobwebs on the sill, and a jiggly catcher. overall, the room was clean and the beds well made, as was the bathroom.

The deluxe rooms are quite noisy, due to them being built up like a Russian style apartment complex, the building is concrete and the noise echoes throughout, even with the doors shut, and a few bars close by generate enough noise, so if your wanting a perfect nights sleep, I'd suggest to keep away from these "deluxe" rooms, and go for the cheaper option.

Overall, We continue to stay here, because the service is good and the rooms are very affordable, especially if your on a budget and your not to fussy about your accommodation.

The Hotel complex itself has ALOT of potential, it just needs alot of TLC, however alot of parts are dated and could do with a big spruce up in terms of both it's external and internal appeal.

Room Tip: Inquire about the rooms which are only ground level ie, room 211 ect, these are cheaper but the valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The reception area was dark and seedy. Built like barrack blocks sandwiched between a big liquor store, a booze barn and a large dusty bus park at the back, not a bit of green in sight ('garden'?) The rooms have seen better days.
.
Everything was organised for the bus tours (if the bus tour people had finished their meal the restaurant closed early), no breakfast. Service for ordinary people was bad, if you asked for something you were treated as a nuisance.

Not an experience to be repeated.

Room Tip: The second night we went to a place with very good service a few kilometres away ...and they gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Very basic accomodation... the whole complex is a little Adhoc.. a little musty and a little run down. Had to walk a long way to find the laundry... and it was a mess.... with only a childs ironing board and a pathetic cheap tiny iron. The Restaurant also closes at 8.15pm and its badly run.... and the food was very average. The bed was not comfy and there's no room service.This place could have been so much better... but a combination of factors as mentioned, let it down.

Pro's: The grounds are nicely presented and there's an excellent Pub on the grounds called the Stock Xchange, great staff, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

After spending 30 min at the I-SITE looking for accomadation with a pool, we booked a night at the garden motel. Which was the worst pick ever...
The only room left for 3 people, was a Standart triple motel unit.
The room was smelly, dark, the windows on the back "kitchen" side were broken and locked. The Fridge smelt, and the "oven-stove" was a ridiculous, grease looking something...
The beding looked old, with stains and....just not like something you want to sleep in.....

Well, at least we thought, our doughter could have fun in the pool, so we followed the pool sign to find that there was no pool, just a big "construction side" ...so we asked in the office what happend, and we got a sloopy answer, the earthquake destroyed the pool...if so im sorry, but I think you should write this on your homepage....

We are normaly people that like to sleep in and have a late check out....at The garden motel we checked out 6.00 in the morning....

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparklingFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
655 reviews
3.3 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#119 of 146 in Christchurch
190 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
392 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#47 of 146 in Christchurch
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Hotel

Address: 110 Marshland Road | Shirley, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $88 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Hotel is conveniently situated minutes away from the Palms Shopping Mall. The hotel features 62 hotel/ motel rooms. We have rooms that are suitable for families, tourists, sports groups/ teams, business or corporate travelers that are visiting the "Garden City". Our units are quiet and we have a spacious free car parking available.Our hotel units are fully installed with air conditioning. For wine and dine options, you could choose from the different facilities that we have - Garden Restaurant (Buffet) GBC -Garden Bar & Cafe. We are only 5 minutes drive away from the heart of the city where you can take a stroll along the picturesque Avon River, from which the views of the Southern Alps can be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing