We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northcote Motor Lodge
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent a night here and found it comfortable and clean. Main bedroom was open plan which worked well but was a bit cold.
Bed very comfortable and shower generously pressurized and nice and hot. Motel owner pleasant and friendly.
Teas and coffees plain but acceptable - cups a bit skimpy - could do with nice mugs

Room Tip: Rooms bit drafty and being open plan takes a while to heat up - close all the bedroom & bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThinkRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
17
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We arrived at Northcote Motor Lodge late after a long drive up the South Island, it was cold and pouring rain, but the friendly owner quickly got us into our room without hassel. The room had a very cosy feel, but it was spacious enough to fit a Super King sized bed. It also had a separate kitchen and bathroom/toilet, a heater for those cold nights, LCD TV, an iron/ironing board and tea/coffee making facilities. We only stayed for one night but it was a quiet & comfortable stay, so we would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PostmanPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at Northcote Motor Lodge for a week and were surprised to find that we did not get the room service that we are normally accustomed to - just a fresh towel and the rubbish bin emptied each day. Parking was definitely tight and if you arrived back late in the evening that was tough. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. We were very close to some cafes and restaurants which we took advantage of and had some great meals. Our hosts were very nice, friendly, obliging people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
432 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I just wanted a bed for the night in the Northern side of Christchurch and this motel I would definately recommend. Good value for money, clean and tidy. Would stay there again if I needed to stay on this side of town. Close to some cafes and restaurants and a 15 minute walk to Northlands Mall and plenty more bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Getting any kind of hotel in Christchurch is very, very tough since the earth quake. All of the hotels in the area share a reservation system, so if you find someone nice they can tell you who has availaiblity. We got this one within 10 min of someone else cancelling a reservation.. yes it is that tight. Room was very clean.. but it is a 1-2 star experience.. I don't recommend staying anywhere in christchurch for long.. go outside the city if you have longer stays in mind. This is a very nice place.. but not somewhere you want to do anything but sleep. Just 2 weeks prior a family had been living in our unit for the last 12 months.. wow.. that is tough.

Room Tip: Parking is a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were placed on the ground level. The unit was compact, but had all that we needed. The parking was a little tight, but fortunately there weren't too many people staying at the time. The unit was clean, and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

When we arrived we walked into a freezing cold room as the door was wide open, it did take us a while to warm the room up and when we did it was pleasant. The bed was comfy and it was close to town. I had to go to the office a couple of times and each time i felt like i was more of a hassle for the lady than a customer. Over all it was a quick visit and the room was lovely, once it was warmed up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieNZ_7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.8 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.1 mi away
Abbey Motor Lodge
Abbey Motor Lodge
#122 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.3 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#121 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Motor Lodge

Property: Northcote Motor Lodge
Address: 309 Main North Road | Redwood, Christchurch 8015, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northcote Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our comfortable, warm and very quiet units. We have 16 rooms with something to suit all budgets. There is a mix of Standard or Deluxe 1 bedroom units and Studios. We also have a large spacious 2 bedroom unit which can cater for a max of 5-6 guests. Some Deluxe Units are upstairs and one of the Deluxe Studios has a spa bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northcote Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing