We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Athena Motel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$118
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)
$106
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$96
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$121
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
$143
$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arena Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$87
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camelot Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$89
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
$208
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveler rating
19
13
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
13
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriccarton mallfew minor thingslocation is greatheaterkitchenettemotelnz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 38 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit overnight of a Friday and had a great time. Our hosts were very hospitable and the room was very comfortable. The Mall is almost opposite the motel and restaurants are in easy walking distance, so what you didn't have in the unit itself, was within easy reach of the motel. I travel to Christchurch regularly for both work and leisure and know the area well, but this was my first time at Athena and I have to to say, after this visit, I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JP1592014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was a lovely place to stay. Facilities were very clean, modern and well appointed. It was also surprisingly quiet given that it was on Riccarton Road near the Mall with heavy traffic around. A small glitch was that 2 lights weren't working and there was no plunger coffee provided for the plunger that was in room. Apart from that it was a great place to stay and we would return.

Room Tip: Choose a room heading back from the road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Seriously I have stayed in a fair few places and this place ranks as one of the best. The rooms are extremely modern bathroom and kitchen fittings etc perfect. LED lights flat screen TV Aircon. Although on the busy Riccarton Road less than a mile from Hagley Park you can't hear the traffic at all. Our room balcony opened onto wooded area. William on reception was both a mine of information and helpfull into the bargain. The motel is opposite a shopping Mall where you can find everything you need. After only booking two nights initially we decided to make it our base. We are off on a two day trip tomorrow and William will store our major luggage so that we can travel light. Great place you won't regret coming here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here recently and enjoyed our stay. We were able to be upgraded to a 3 bedroom property which was a few houses up from the main apartments which was great for us as a traveling family. We did stay one night in the 2 bedroom apartment as well. Furnishings were lovely and had a modern feel. A few minor things were 2 bedroom lacked a hairdryer and the wifi wasn't working well but that was the providers fault not the team at Athena. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would stay again. Great location right next to Riccarton Westfields and a very easy few minutes to walk there and back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caroline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The motel is just across the road from Westfield mall.There are also many shops & restaurants nearby.As for the room,it's cosy,clean and with a well equipped kitchenette and spa bath.Lovely little balcony too.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VianaFarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews