We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Ranked #107 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty and dated”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We found the room in this hotel to be really dirty. We were able the write the word "dirty" in the grime on the wall in the lounge. The walls in the bedrooms were just as bad. My son found and old sock and some food wrappers under his bed. The bedding is old and dated and in desperate need of replacing. The ceiling in the bathroom was unpainted and you could see the gib and plaster - it had been like this for some time. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel which was one positive. We thought it was quite expensive for a family of four considering the state of the room and how old everything was. The hotel is in a handy location.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluespur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
15
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This property is in a handy location, with great shopping close by. However the road it is on is very busy, and the room I had was at the front and quite noisy. There is no double glazing. Rooms at the back of the property would probably be OK. The decor is dated and could do with a freshen up, as could the bedding. The room was clean and had everything you needed. The free laundry was appreciated. This motor lodge would be fine for a short stay, but ask for a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night after long-hour of driving from West Coast. Owner is friendly & check-in was fast, with free wi-fi too. Room is clean & tidy but need upgrade for the quilt & mattress.
Well equipped kitchen though the kettle is a bit rusty.
Overall, will only stay if you do not mind for just a night. Otherwise look for better option if you are planning on longer duration of stays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keano4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My brother and I had to attend a wedding on Christchurch and after searching for ages we came across Ascot Vale. I'm glad I went with this hotel. We were here for 3 nights, check-in was a breeze as was check-out. It took 5 minutes. The location was good as it's close to Countdown (Woolworths for Aussies), the Westfield Mall, a number of restaurants but it was never noisy. We had unit 10 which is situated upstairs. The beds were comfortable, room was clean, tv was new and there was cutlery suplied including saucepans and frying pans. The only down side was the shower, as mentioned in previous posts the water pressure is not overly strong but it did the job. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you to the staff as well for making our stay lovely.

Room Tip: Units 9 & 10 are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice_storm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cheap and clean - basic fittings with slightly dated decor but tidy, quiet night given it is on a main road but is away from the pubs, etc - good kitchenette with all you would need to make basic meal. Close to shops. Parking was the downside, had to back onto busy main road when carpark was full as parking was tight. Good in room information. Easy to find given Christchurch's road situation is always changing with road works and road closures/diversions - easy drive to Hagley Park and centre of town, airport etc. Would use again.

Room Tip: Pick middle or back room from list if available so you are further from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The new managers are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with a nice TV and kitchenette. The beds need a make-over - the quilts are very old and the couch bed needs a new mattress. It is handy to shops and the zoo. I wish the new owners all the very best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here and it was fine for the one night. I wouldn't have wanted to stay another night though. The rooms were clean and tidy as was the bathroom, but the fold out couch was pretty old and uncomfortable. Also, it was pretty noisy. There was some kind of work going on at the building nextdoor from around 3am and the floodlights they were using lit up the entire lounge where my son was sleeping. Otherwise it was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Riccarton
Comfort Inn Riccarton
#126 of 144 in Christchurch
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#103 of 144 in Christchurch
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#84 of 144 in Christchurch
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ilam Motel
Ilam Motel
#138 of 144 in Christchurch
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
#41 of 144 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Vale Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Vale Motor Lodge

Property: Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ascot Vale Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern complex situated back off the road, so very quiet with off street parking. Large spacious one and two bedroom units with cooking facilities. Wireless broadband, newspaper, SKY TV, laundry all free. Less than 15 mins to city centre and airport and close to all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascot Vale Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing