We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap quiet accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Ranked #107 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good cheap quiet accommodation”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Cheap and clean - basic fittings with slightly dated decor but tidy, quiet night given it is on a main road but is away from the pubs, etc - good kitchenette with all you would need to make basic meal. Close to shops. Parking was the downside, had to back onto busy main road when carpark was full as parking was tight. Good in room information. Easy to find given Christchurch's road situation is always changing with road works and road closures/diversions - easy drive to Hagley Park and centre of town, airport etc. Would use again.

Room Tip: Pick middle or back room from list if available so you are further from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
15
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The new managers are very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with a nice TV and kitchenette. The beds need a make-over - the quilts are very old and the couch bed needs a new mattress. It is handy to shops and the zoo. I wish the new owners all the very best.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GretaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here and it was fine for the one night. I wouldn't have wanted to stay another night though. The rooms were clean and tidy as was the bathroom, but the fold out couch was pretty old and uncomfortable. Also, it was pretty noisy. There was some kind of work going on at the building nextdoor from around 3am and the floodlights they were using lit up the entire lounge where my son was sleeping. Otherwise it was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent one night here before catching our flight in the morning which required us to be at the airport by 5.30 am.

Room was clean but dated. Water pressure was low for the shower other than this everything was fine. Though located along the road, room was quite quiet and we had a good night sleep.

What we like most was the free wifi and free laundry which we made used of before flying off. Motel was priced reasonably for this area and Westfield mall is not very far away on the left of the motel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is at the corner of the upstair unit. Good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were very happy with our accommodation. The rooms are very clean, bright and even though its near the street its very quiet. It was quite cold the weekend we were there and as we were from Australia the heating and electric blankets were a god send.
No bedding had been given for the sofa couch but after a trip back to reception it was not a problem. The only grip is that there are not enough parks for the amount of rooms. Thankfully we had a small rental car and were able to sneak around the side of the motel, but it would be difficult for larger cars.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed one night in November. Unit was clean but dated. even with it on a main road the units are back enough to keep the traffic noise down. we had 2 single beds that were very comfortable. microwave, fridge, tv all good. living area separate from the bedroom. in all pretty spacious. free wifi but i didn't try it so not sure about the speed. very friendly staff. just a few blocks from the mall. the one downside was the shower, if you can call it that. water pressure so low it was more like a dripping faucet. probably the worst water pressure i've ever had. might have been just the shower head as the sink seemed to be fine. in all i might consider another one night stop there due to the price (good deal thru hotel.com) - but would try another room.

Room Tip: room 1 was fine but shower pressure was very very low
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I booked this motel online for 3 nights, as I was going to be getting in after the office was closed I called to find out how to get my room key, clear instructions given.
On arrival key was exactly where expected and directions to room clear. Room was not the largest I have ever stayed in but were good size, clean, tidy and well laid out. Bed had electric blanket on it to warm bed up and the bed itself was comfortable. Bathroom had a leaky tap, let the manager know in the morning and was fixed that day.
Although we didn't do any cooking in room there was a 2 burner stove top and microwave so you could cook if you wanted.
The motel also has free Wi-fi and complementary fruit bursts in your room each day, lovely little touch.

The motel was close to road but we stayed in room 6 which was away from road so didn't hear anything in the room. Location was good, bus stop just outside that you could catch orbiter bus or buses to city and it was a 10-15 minute walk to Riccarton mall.

Only downsides to the place (and this is being picky):
Didn't get refills of toiletries after first day
Shower head was at chest height for me (I'm 1.8m high) so not designed for tall people and the shower head looked a bit manky with a couple small cracks in plastic cover.
Could of had an extra blanket in room for people who don't like using electric blanket overnight.
Probably not a motel to stay in if you want LOTS of extras as it is a mid range motel, good for traveller who just needs somewhere to hang their coat and have a good nights sleep.

All in all, very good motel, reasonable price, clean and tidy, no earthquake damage, close to city, friendly owners.
And did I mention free fruit bursts haha.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Riccarton
Comfort Inn Riccarton
#123 of 144 in Christchurch
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#66 of 144 in Christchurch
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#98 of 144 in Christchurch
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#67 of 144 in Christchurch
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ilam Motel
#136 of 144 in Christchurch
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Vale Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Vale Motor Lodge

Property: Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ascot Vale Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern complex situated back off the road, so very quiet with off street parking. Large spacious one and two bedroom units with cooking facilities. Wireless broadband, newspaper, SKY TV, laundry all free. Less than 15 mins to city centre and airport and close to all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascot Vale Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing