We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot Vale Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Ranked #113 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and were very happy with our accommodation. The rooms are very clean, bright and even though its near the street its very quiet. It was quite cold the weekend we were there and as we were from Australia the heating and electric blankets were a god send.
No bedding had been given for the sofa couch but after a trip back to reception it was not a problem. The only grip is that there are not enough parks for the amount of rooms. Thankfully we had a small rental car and were able to sneak around the side of the motel, but it would be difficult for larger cars.
Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
15
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed one night in November. Unit was clean but dated. even with it on a main road the units are back enough to keep the traffic noise down. we had 2 single beds that were very comfortable. microwave, fridge, tv all good. living area separate from the bedroom. in all pretty spacious. free wifi but i didn't try it so not sure about the speed. very friendly staff. just a few blocks from the mall. the one downside was the shower, if you can call it that. water pressure so low it was more like a dripping faucet. probably the worst water pressure i've ever had. might have been just the shower head as the sink seemed to be fine. in all i might consider another one night stop there due to the price (good deal thru hotel.com) - but would try another room.

Room Tip: room 1 was fine but shower pressure was very very low
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I booked this motel online for 3 nights, as I was going to be getting in after the office was closed I called to find out how to get my room key, clear instructions given.
On arrival key was exactly where expected and directions to room clear. Room was not the largest I have ever stayed in but were good size, clean, tidy and well laid out. Bed had electric blanket on it to warm bed up and the bed itself was comfortable. Bathroom had a leaky tap, let the manager know in the morning and was fixed that day.
Although we didn't do any cooking in room there was a 2 burner stove top and microwave so you could cook if you wanted.
The motel also has free Wi-fi and complementary fruit bursts in your room each day, lovely little touch.

The motel was close to road but we stayed in room 6 which was away from road so didn't hear anything in the room. Location was good, bus stop just outside that you could catch orbiter bus or buses to city and it was a 10-15 minute walk to Riccarton mall.

Only downsides to the place (and this is being picky):
Didn't get refills of toiletries after first day
Shower head was at chest height for me (I'm 1.8m high) so not designed for tall people and the shower head looked a bit manky with a couple small cracks in plastic cover.
Could of had an extra blanket in room for people who don't like using electric blanket overnight.
Probably not a motel to stay in if you want LOTS of extras as it is a mid range motel, good for traveller who just needs somewhere to hang their coat and have a good nights sleep.

All in all, very good motel, reasonable price, clean and tidy, no earthquake damage, close to city, friendly owners.
And did I mention free fruit bursts haha.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Friendly and very helpful hosts. Nice amenities, comfy beds, quiet complex, good price and excellent location. FREE WIFI AND LAUNDRY MUCH APPRECIATED.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed in this unit 2 nights but found it reasonably quiet given it is on a busy main road. The owners were pleasant and very helpful. The unit itself was snug but clean and comfortable with all the amenities I required.The price was very good value for what we got. I would be happy to stay there again.
Given that Ch Ch accomodation has been scarce post Quake the price charged was very good given that many other moteliers are upping prices.
Only gripe is that if you have a car then getting on & off Riccarton Rd at times poses a difficulty.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toddytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
687 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Was much better than I expected and the managers couldn't have been more helpful - replenished all the milk tea and coffee without question when I ran out in the first afternoon, and helped arrange a great evening meal (chinese) that was delivered to the door without any additional costs. I had ended up here by accident but would certainly go back and be happy to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invercargill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Only stayed in this unit 2 nights but found it quite quiet given it is on a busy main road. The owners were pleasant and very helpful. Ther room itself was clean and comfortable with all the amenities we required.The price was very good value for what we got. I would be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnelsonInvercargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Riccarton
Comfort Inn Riccarton
#125 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ilam Motel
#138 of 148 in Christchurch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vita Nova Motel
Vita Nova Motel
#65 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#86 of 148 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#60 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apollo Motel Christchurch
Apollo Motel Christchurch
#99 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Vale Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Vale Motor Lodge

Property: Ascot Vale Motor Lodge
Address: 296 Riccarton Road | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ascot Vale Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern complex situated back off the road, so very quiet with off street parking. Large spacious one and two bedroom units with cooking facilities. Wireless broadband, newspaper, SKY TV, laundry all free. Less than 15 mins to city centre and airport and close to all major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Vale Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing