We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charging 4 star hotel rate and not even providing 2 star facilities” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Charging 4 star hotel rate and not even providing 2 star facilities”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Reception staff - very unfriendly , taking customers for granted.
Cannot help with any queries.
Does not have car park ( charge for car park is 20 dollars).
Hear loud voices from outside during the weekend and could not sleep.
No porterage.
Hotel novotel is very good compared to Ibis christchurch.

Charging 4 star rate and providing not even 2 star facilities.

My sincere advice is not to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venniechada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    412
    237
    39
    18
See reviews for
123
350
106
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

I stayed at the Ibis for 4 nights and found it to be a great hotel.

First, the staff were plesant and helpful. I arrived at 11 am, prior to the 2 pm check in time and was surprised as my room was ready for me.

The room itself was nice. It was simple, but clean. There was a big TV with a selection of channels. The bed was a little hard and pillows awful, but other than that the room was nice. It was fairly spacious, I didn't get any feelings of claustrophobia as mentioned by others. The bothroom was clean with a good shower,

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. It is right near the main shopping areas, Cathedral Square and aroud the corner from the 'Strip' of resturaunts. It was only a short walk to the Arts Centre and Botanic Gardens.

All the nights were peaceful, except Friday night when I could hear noise from the bar down the street (and the inconsiderate guests staying across from me who rolled in at 4am very loudly!). The noise from the pub wasn't unbearable, but should be mentioned.

I paid $70NZ a night for the Ibis and was incredible impressed with it, considering the cost. I ate in the Bistro one night and found the food to be delicious!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorksOnly2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

Booked through the Accor website during their super sale for about NZ$80 due to the city centre location, for two nights at the beginning of our three week tour of the South Island.

Although the check in time is around 2 pm in New Zealand, we reached the hotel before 10 am from the airport after a long flight. The staff was very cooperative and within ten minutes a room was arranged, in fact we were upgraded as the room we had been allocated was not ready then.

Although the room was extremely small, it was very clean. Don't stay here if you intend to spend a lot of time in the room, as it can get claustrophobic.However you are a hop skip and jump away from Cathedral Square so why should you want to stay in the room.

After catching some sleep and rest we ventured out in the afternoon to find ourselves a phone card and a rental car for the rest of our trip. We found a lot of choices in the vicinity and were able to arrange both at very competitive rates. Beware that there is no free parking at the hotel premises. We left our car at the rental agency's premises, which was a 5-10 minute walk from the Ibis.

Plethora of eating places just a few steps away- from fast food to fine dining. Have your breakfast at Drexels just across the street. Also do try Dimitris' souvlaki and kebab near the Bridge of Rememberance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

It's quite tidy and efficiently designed. Check in process was efficient and they had plenty of information on in-town activities. The room was tight but manageable. The bathroom is quite small and is equipped with a shower box instead of a full tub. The closet space is minimal. The location was great since it was only a 5 min walk to the cathedral square. It's really a great place for budget travelers. I think I'll get claustrophobia if I stayed longer than 2 nights though.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

This is our second visit to the Ibis .. and once again for the great rate .. which included breakfast we were not disappointed. The reception was warm and welcoming and the host for breakfast in the morning was a treasure to start the day ..
Fair comments on previous reviews on shower / bathroom sizes, but like I said in my first review .. the rooms are clean / comfortable / and the hotel is well located in the hub of CHCH .. we will continue to make this our number one place to stay ...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveanLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

Location in the heart of Christchurch. Room comfortable and clean. Only complaints is that there is no free internet (except for a 15 minute teaser) and no in room safe.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jinapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinderah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

checked in after midnight flew in from gold coast on jetstar booked though flight centre tweed city met on ariville by Bede on reception very helpful good quite room on 8 th floor nice comfy bed though join in middle bit hows ya father very small bath room would like to have a bath but only shower but all in all very clean good for overnight or a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanChinderah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#17 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#46 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing