We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Opened Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #34 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Recently Opened Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hotel Ibis in Christchurch reopened in October 2012 and still has all the fresh newness that makes visiting the city that much more pleasurable. The hotel's location is perfect for seeing the attractions in being centrally located downtown with the Botanical Gardens and Christchurch Museum within an easy walking distance, and also exploring the ruins from the 2011 earthquake. The hotel is squeaky clean; the elevators work; a complete breakfast buffet is available; an on-site restaurant is available; and the front desk is extremely helpful explaining attractions and providing directions.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level room to increase visiblity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPatrick33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear MPatrick33629,

Thank you for your review and for your very positive comments about our location and service. The Tram has now also just re started again and so all of the city attractions that were in operation before the earthquake are now open again. This can only be a good thing for the city as we are in recovery mode.

Again thank you and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    434
    248
    39
    19
See reviews for
128
367
110
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the Ibis Christchurch recently and found it to be comfortable and well positioned despite Christchurch city being in such dissaray after the eathquake
Ibis is always predictable I find. The location is alway central and although it is basic (ie no mini bar/spas etc) there is everything you need for a comfortable night's stay. The bed was comfortable. The room was large and the room a comfortable temperature. The shower and bathroom was good and everything worked perfectly ie jug for coffee and tea making, tv good.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and spent time explaining where to eat etc.
All in all very pleasant to stay in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaOZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear AmandaOZ09

Thank you for your review of the Ibis Christchurch and it was very pleasing to note that we lived up to your expectations in all areas. We are trying really hard and it is pleasing when this is acknowledged in this way.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The location is OK and the restaurant was really great but I won't stay here again due to a very rude staff member. The room I was given was very basic and had a very noisy bathroom door and a connecting door through which I could could hear EVERYTHING that was being said or going on in the room adjoining; even with the air-conditioning and TV on! I asked to be moved and was being dealt with by a very helpful young lady when her supervisor came over and asked what was join on. She explained and he rudely said "that's an adjoining room", to which I replied, "maybe but I didn't ask for adjoining rooms and I am not travelling wight he people in the next room". His manner and abruptness was very off putting and if there had been alternative accommodation near by I would have left. The new room was quieter. I did complain and this was followed up but I foolishly didn't take the supervisors name. Basically make sure you ask for a room with no connecting door.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with no connecting door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrandiOtago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear BrandiOtago,

Thanks for your review and it was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant. I am sorry that you didn't receive the kind of response from our reception supervisor that you should have. I have spoken to all staff about this and reiterated our policy of good service at all times is paramount. It was pleasing to note that we did shift you to a quieter room and we have subsequently checked on the sound proofing of all interconnecting rooms. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I think this Ibis is what one can expect from a 3* Hotel, in a central location. I was visiting alone so size of room was not a problem, but I'd say definitely not for more than 2 people. Yes, the bathrooms are small, but I have seen smaller ones, and they are perfectly adequate. As I checked in, the reception staff explained about the Wifi etc to the couple in front of me, but as I was joining an AAT Kings tour the folowing day I got the second-class citizen treatment, just my room key!! Perhaps AAT Kings were not paying a lot for the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but area is not particularly noisy. City view not worth paying more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonaghAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear TonaghAnn,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and we do agree that our rooms are very suitable for 2 people. Sorry that do didnt get the Wifi explanation directly but it was good that you did hear about it. We trust that you enjoyed your tour of New Zealand and that you found your second stay at Ibis Christchurch to your liking.

KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed one night at Ibis.. nice clean and no frills hotel. Room and bathroom are small (but adequate for one person). The room had 2 double beds - 4 people in the room would struggle to fit things in. WIFI in the foyer was pretty bad - would not connect to my iphone. But there are free computers in the foyer which I was able to use instead of my iphone.

Reception staff courteous enough. It's a great location right by the rebuild and by the square. I would stay here again for a night or two (nothing more), if the rates are still reasonable (which reflects the size of the room).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear ilherbie,

Thank you for your review and positive comments about our location, cleanliness and staff. We have had our service supplier check connecting to iphones in the lobby and everything appears in order but thank you for mentioning this.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principal@campbellsbay.school.nz
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

While it is probably a first world problem, many hotel showers aren't what they used to be in the pressure stakes. Not so at the Ibis Christchurch where the water pressure was superb. Thank you, Ibis.

Aside from the shower all was as you would expect from an Ibis hotel - things done simply and well. We didn't dine at the hotel but colleagues who did were very positive about their experience.

Now, when this hotel has more neighbours in the form of retail and entertainment optipns Ibis Christchurch will be in the heart of things. Roll on the rebuild.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boofhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear boofhead3,

Thank you for your very positive review of the Ibis and for your comments about our staff. Thank you for supporting our city as we recover from the major earthquake of 2011. As you say "roll on the rebuild" and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just had one night at the Ibis. Yes it is central, but sadly at the moment with so much devistation in the city, it is not an advantage. All staff were pleasant. The room is tiny, particulalry when they jamb in two double beds. Bathroom, must be a new record for smallness. All was clean and neat. Had dinner in their restaurant, maybe I had a bad selection, but it don't think it is hard to cook Tortellini with a tomato sauce, but the pasta was undercooked and tough and $25 for a medium serve !!!
Breakfast ok, not a big selection.
They advertise Free WIFI, but this is only if you sit in the foyer and only for 30mins, otherwise $15 for 2 hours.
Won't go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierroTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear PierroSydney,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to see that Christchurch is in the rebuilding phase following the earthquake of 2011. Our location being so central is going to improve each month as new attractions and services open up again and this is exciting. The Ibis is part of a worldwide chain and as such we very much have a formula for the size of our rooms and compact bathrooms that are well equipped. We do offer 30 minutes free wifi in our public areas which include the lobby and bar and restaurant. I apologise if the meal wasnt to your liking. It was pleasing to see that you thought our staff were pleasant and the service was good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 145 in Christchurch
1,836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 145 in Christchurch
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 145 in Christchurch
1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#38 of 145 in Christchurch
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#29 of 145 in Christchurch
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing