We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good inexpensive hotel”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel, one of the first to reopen after the devastaing eartquakes of 2011, is well situated in the centre of the city. It is better than I had expected with a large room and bathroom and excellent food. The menu, although limited, is extremely well prepared and served with some very good dishes on offer. The menu, small as is is is worthy of at least four stars. Have stayed there twice this month and both times was impressed. The staff are very helpful. The only drawback is that we were charged for wifi which irritates me but we were allowed thirty minutes a day free which is better than nothing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Bill T,
Thank you for your very nice comments about our hotel and staff. Our restaurant does offer excellent food and it is pleasing to see that you commented on this.
Thanks once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 947 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Ibis Christchurch in May 2013 for 3 nights. Since we travelled with our parents we have booked two rooms. The size of the rooms are good and the rooms are very clean. The service standard met with our expectation and worth the money we have paid for. The hotel location is good and I was told that the hotel has just finished the renovation a few months ago due to the Christchurch earthquake. We got a 30 mins complimentary free WIFI daily which is good. The food at the restaurant is good. We arrived at the late evening and we had dinner at the restaurant located at the basement. The food is of high quality. It was a good experience. Will recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Angela W,
Thank you for your very positive comments about the hotel and our friendly staff and the high quality of our meals. We have worked hard to keep our service levels high so it is very pleasing to see this commented on by our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recently stayed at the IBIS hotel in Christchurch. The hotel staff was very helpful, the room was adequate (with a lovely view of a parking garage), the breakfast offering was good and the location was great. I was impressed at the little things they did that were not required. When I mistook the end time for breakfast they let me grab a quick bite from everything that hadn't been cleared etc.

Overall, IBIS is a moderate chain and this one met all of their standards and provided above average customer service.

Room Tip: Lots of construction going on around the hotel. Might want to request a quiet room. Mine had no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear travelgrl11 NYC,
Thank you for your positive comments about our helpful staff and for endorsing our location. Being right over the street from the ReStart Mall is a really positive plus for us and as the city opens up more and more our location will become even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quick visit but highly enjoyable. Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable, small yet functional - exactly what I was expecting from an Ibis. Staff on front desk very friendly and helpful - understandably there is still a lack of eating places nearby but they were keen to direct us to what was open or new, encouraging us to visit Re-start and other remaining or new attractions. Didn't try the in-house restaurant so couldn't give a 5/5 otherwise I would have. Free wi-fi would be great but there was a complimentary half hour use of the lobby computers which was a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear GB
Thank you for your very positive comments about the hotel and I am pleased to read that you found our friendly staff helpful and knowledgeable. We do work hard on educating the staff on updating their local knowledge on what is open. There are new places opening up regularly so this is quite a big task.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

For a budget hotel this is excellent. At night it was an oasis in the middle of the empty spaces in the Christchurch CBD. The rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast fine for the price. My only issue was having to pay for wireless Internet. It was not working properly on our first day although it was fixed promptly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Carol J
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. We do work hard at maintaining standards and it is pleasing to see that you rated us so highly. We do supply 30 minutes of free wifi in our public areas and also have 4 guest computers available for this purpose.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having stayed in various Ibis hotels around the world the Ibis Christchurch was exactly what we expected in regards to the room and amenities provided. The room was clean and fully set out for two travellers. The restaurant is what let the hotel down, while the idea of the menu is fine, I found the soy marinated salmon hard to pair with a suitable sauce option (I think it needed an Asian sauce), the waitress on the night was quite rude to other tables around us and her method of carrying three plates involved placing it on her arm and tucking the plate under her breast, the stains on her uniform showing this is a common occurrence, not really how I want my meal delivered.

I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared-Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Jared-Kiwi,
Thank you for your comments and for rating us very highly in most areas. We have arranged retraining of our waitress regarding service standards. It is a shame that you found the salmon difficult to pair with a suitable sauce option as this is one of our favourite dishes and we constantly receive excellent feedback on it. We will also see if we can arrange to add an Asian sauce to the options.
Once again thanks for giving your opinions as this enables us to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - hotel is right in the red zone - so a lot of rebuilding going on around hotel, and not a lot to see or places to eat nearby. Right across from Re:start mall which is pretty funky to visit.
Rooms are small and bathroom is tiny - but fairly typical for Ibis. Spotlessly clean though, so a pleasure to stay in.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixiejo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear pixiejo1,

It is a pleasure to receive feedback from you following your recent stay with us. As a regular visitor of Ibis hotels, your feedback is very much appreciated. As you mentioned, Ibis rooms are all very similar as this is a brand standard which helps all guests know exactly what they are booking.

I am very pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed our central location, friendly staff and spotless rooms, but also took advantage of the funky re-start mall right opposite our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Ibis Christchurch in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $101 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing