We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #32 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfect if your looking for a hotel in the CBD, one of the few left and one of the first opened since the quake...currently sits right on the edge of the red zone, so it's only for the dearing to go high...brilliant service and rooms, could do with new pillows but everything else was as you expect from a top hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Aaron F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel to be "Perfect" and well appointed. We do pride ourselves in the excellent service we provide and always look ot improve ourselves through your comments. We are currently in the process of changing the pillows provided in our hotel and hope to have this resolved in the near future.

Once again, thank you for the excellent comments. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Ibis Christchurch in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 943 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is located in central Christchurch, which is still very much under recovery. There are few restaurants and shops around as most are still closed after the earthquake. It is however next to the very cool Re:Start container shopping mall.

The hotel and room were exactly as expected from an Ibis hotel, nothing special but it serves the purpose. Rooms were clean, and staff was friendly. Big positive was that we could check-in to our room directly even though we arrive early in the morning.

Don't let anything stop you from visiting Christchurch; it's worth it and the city deserves it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear EBinNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us in Christchurch. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also took advantage of our unique "re-start mall" just opposite the hotel. Christchurch does truly deserve more visitors and it is our hope that you will recommend them to us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Ibis Christchurch in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Ibis hotel has done very well to re-open in Christchurch. However if you are staying here please do not expect the Ritz. Most things are fairly basic - nothing very special. Probably the most disappointing thing was the restaurant which is a shame because if you are staying at this hotel there is very little at night offering any alternative. It had all the glamour of a factory canteen - particularly the furnishings. The menu was not that exciting either. Breakfast was disappointing: it was the usual buffet help yourself but the quality of that which was on offer was by far the worse that we we experienced during our tour of New Zealand. It was not hot enough, looked unappetising and the bacon was the meanest and most under-cooked that I have ever seen anywhere. I didn't bother on the last day and merely opted for the cereal, toast and marmalade. At the time of our visit the staff working in the restaurant looked fed up but at Reception they were keen to show an effort.
Good luck to everyone working in the City and helping to make life go on as near to normal as possible. DO visit Christchurch and experience their resolve.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastDevonVulpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear EastDevonVulpes,
Thanks for your comments and for rating us highly in most areas. It was disappointing to see that the breakfast let us down. We do strive to keep the buffet at a consistent level so I apologise that the food wasn't hot enough. We will most definitely take on board your comments about the breakfast and ensure that the bacon is better cooked in future.
Thank you also for your comments about the resolve of the people. We are very proud to have played a very large part be re opening the first hotel in the city and we will continue to give our support to our community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel itself is a good quality Ibis standard hotel. It does take some getting used to being in such a devastated location and that is why its so unbelievable that the hotel can function so well with so little fuss from the staff. They were very knowledgeable about restaurants that had recently reopened and which roads are closed etc which changes day to day.

And like everyone in Christchurch who has been through so much, the staff seem to have taken it all in their stride.

Thanks for a great stay and we wish you all the best for the rebuilding of Christchurch

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marraminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Marraminga,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay and for rating us so highly. We are trying really hard to offer good service during the early stages of the rebuilding of Chrustchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel was very central if you want to walk around central Christchurch, which is still very much under recovery. It is just next to the re:start container mall, which is really cool, and the views out the windows are excellent.

While the hotel is serviceable, I am afraid I can't get excited about it. The lobby and rooms are extremely bland, and I didn't find them to be worth the price. The rooms were clean and tidy with very standard hotel decor, but everything looked sort of chintzy--it didn't feel high-end at all. The half-hour of wi-fi in the lobby feels stingy, and the rate to use wi-fi in the rooms is quite steep. the staff is generally polite and helpful, but it was frustrating that we got the wrong type of room the first time around and had to go downstairs to sort it out.

I don't generally opt to stay in chain hotels, so perhaps I was expecting too much. But in general, I hope for at least some connection to the place, and this entire hotel was very bland and institutional feeling, more so than average for large chain hotels I've stayed in in the past.

Room Tip: Try to get a view toward re:start and the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Katiekins570,
Thank you for your commentsand for rating us so highly for our location, sleep quality and cleanliness. The views over the ReStart Mall containers is definitely a big plus for our street facing rooms. As a 3 star plus Ibis brand hotel we are very proud of what we have achieved since we re opened the hotel in September 2012. We acknowledge that we do not suit everybody's taste but we are trying our best to offer good service with friendly staff.
Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently spent three nights at Ibis Christchurch. This hotel has not long been reopened following the devastation of the quakes. Everything is looks great, beautifully finished, clean and offering all you need in a good business hotel. The restaurant is pretty good too, but be sure to book in advance as it fills quickly with very few city centre dining options available at the moment. It is right across from the new Re:START shipping container shopping village which was great and is a very short stroll to Hagley Park. The staff in this hotel are its greatest asset - they are efficient, polite and nothing is too much trouble - well done to the team! The hotel was a good vantage point for some excellent photos of the clean-up operation going on in the city centre - it is very sad to see what has become of this beautiful place. As activities for visitors are quite limited in the town centre, the staff were very helpful with arranging taxis and suggesting shopping centres, cinemas and attractions elsewhere. Only one word of advice to the hotel management - do something about the pillows in the rooms - they are flat as a tac with virtually no support. My room had two beds and six pillows, none of which were really satisfactory.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stavanger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear stavanger85,
Thank you for your very complimentary review of the hotel. We are indeed fortunate to have such a great staff team and we are very proud of them. I will pass on your comments. Thank you for mentioning about the pillows and we are working on a replacement plan to ensure that they are up to standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

we applaud the people of christchuch, we stayed one night at the newly re opened Ibis, out one window there are signs of hope at the re start container mall, a funky positive spot, out the other window is a macabre scene of rubble, broken buildings, cleared and desolate sites and the sorrowful cathedral, very sad but there is so much hope and this hotel is a great sign of this. Yes it is not near anything much at the moment but this is constantly changing and we only had to walk ten minutes to our chosen restaurant. It is nothing fancy but everything you need in a hotel room and a big comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Goodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear 2Goodies,
Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel and also of the ReStart Mall which you can clearly see out of our street facing rooms. It is indeed a funky place and a great sign of hope for the city. It was excellent to see that you rated is very highly in all areas and I will pass this on to the staff.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,023 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $101 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing