We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful start to the new city centre hotel scene in CHC”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A wonderful start to the new city centre hotel scene in CHC”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I recently spent three nights at Ibis Christchurch. This hotel has not long been reopened following the devastation of the quakes. Everything is looks great, beautifully finished, clean and offering all you need in a good business hotel. The restaurant is pretty good too, but be sure to book in advance as it fills quickly with very few city centre dining options available at the moment. It is right across from the new Re:START shipping container shopping village which was great and is a very short stroll to Hagley Park. The staff in this hotel are its greatest asset - they are efficient, polite and nothing is too much trouble - well done to the team! The hotel was a good vantage point for some excellent photos of the clean-up operation going on in the city centre - it is very sad to see what has become of this beautiful place. As activities for visitors are quite limited in the town centre, the staff were very helpful with arranging taxis and suggesting shopping centres, cinemas and attractions elsewhere. Only one word of advice to the hotel management - do something about the pillows in the rooms - they are flat as a tac with virtually no support. My room had two beds and six pillows, none of which were really satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stavanger85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear stavanger85,
Thank you for your very complimentary review of the hotel. We are indeed fortunate to have such a great staff team and we are very proud of them. I will pass on your comments. Thank you for mentioning about the pillows and we are working on a replacement plan to ensure that they are up to standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    429
    246
    39
    18
See reviews for
125
365
109
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

we applaud the people of christchuch, we stayed one night at the newly re opened Ibis, out one window there are signs of hope at the re start container mall, a funky positive spot, out the other window is a macabre scene of rubble, broken buildings, cleared and desolate sites and the sorrowful cathedral, very sad but there is so much hope and this hotel is a great sign of this. Yes it is not near anything much at the moment but this is constantly changing and we only had to walk ten minutes to our chosen restaurant. It is nothing fancy but everything you need in a hotel room and a big comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Goodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear 2Goodies,
Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel and also of the ReStart Mall which you can clearly see out of our street facing rooms. It is indeed a funky place and a great sign of hope for the city. It was excellent to see that you rated is very highly in all areas and I will pass this on to the staff.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The people of Christchurch are doing a grand job of getting going again. We arrived on 29th Jan a few days after another major tremor. We had forgotten about the situation here.
The hotel was booked at the I-site at the airport. A reasonable deal on a 3 night stay included breakfast.
Perhaps the 8th floor (top floor) was perhaps not the best option but we had no issues. Staff were as helpfull as they could be considering their situations.
Wifi is expensive but they offer free internet access in the lobby and you can walk across to the 'Re-Start' container city where there is free public wifi.
Hotel can be difficult to get to in a car as road layout changes daily. Do not let this put you off, the people of Christchurch are very helpfull and they need tourism. We followed the workmens directions. Switch off your satnav.
There are a number of restaurants and bars locally for good food. The hotel restaurant was quite good too on the one night we ate in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Alan B,
Thank you for your very positive comments and it was pleasing to see that our staff were helpful and that you enjoyed dinner in our restaurant. We trust that you take your positive thoughts back to the UK and please tell your friends that the people of Christchurch are ready and enthusiastic about welcoming visitors to our recovering city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Room is fine. Christchurch isnt. Its a sad and somewhat spooky city. There is plenty of free parking around or in the street where the hotel is. Reception staff could have told us about shops opposite. We did ask where to eat and shop and they didnt tell us anything. You wouldnt guess but through the carpark are containers which are shops,and even a bank! Well worth a look. Our GPS had a hard time giving us directions around the city as many of the roads are closed off. I would recommend driving a little way out of the city for a place to stay. We couldnt eat at the hotel as they had a notice saying they could only take people after 8.30. That was far to late for our time zone. We drove around,got sushi and had it in our room. Beds,etc all fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Saltpan Sydney,
Thank you for your comments and it is pleasing to see that you found our rooms to your liking. The hotel is located immediately over the road from the ReStart Shopping Mall and I do apologise that the staff failed to inform you of that. Unfortunately the GPS system is not able to keep up with the changing landscape of the streets but this will improve over time. It was pleasing that you managed to enjoy the shopping and our unique location.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Checked in to be told it would cost me $15 an hour to use the WIFI in my room, (Clerk didn't bother to tell me I could use a public network for free.) Then, they wanted $25 a night for parking. Thanks to the earthquake, free parking is not a problem in Christchurch.
Given that I paid $179 for a single, you would think they would let me use WIFI for free. But, no.

Clerk was pretty smug, explaining that the hotel was doing great as the only one left standing, and that the problem probably was ME.

Breakfast was pretty dreadful. Awful, stale cornflakes. Sad, sorry eggs and bacon. Broken coffee machine.

Attitude seemed to be: We're the only hotel still open in the CBD, so we don't care.

You would be MUCH better off staying in a motel the other side of Hagley for significantly less. I made a mistake booking here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Marcus 777.
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We do have 30 minutes of free WIFI in the lobby and this should be explained to all guests who enquire about WIFI. Our car parking charge of $25 is for secure undercover parking in the hotel basement and suits many of our guests. Our buffet breakfast is normally good quality so I do apologise that on the morning that you stayed that it wasn't up to standard. The coffee machine did need repairing (has been done) but we still were able to provide coffee.
We do trust that we will be able to better meet your needs next time you come to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

First hotel to reopen in the Christchurch CBD since the earthquakes, brand new and helpful staff. My only gripe is that in room dining requires you to pick up your meal from the restaurant, surely someone could deliver it to the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Morunda,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to your satisfaction. We do have excellent staff that we are proud of and we will pass your comments on to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in all five nights in Ibis Christchurch, which is centrally located, bravely standing alone in front of the collapsed and demolished and yet to be demolished buildings, right across the Container Village (shops, cafes etc.). The room was clean and spacious. The free interned in the lobby for half and hour was sufficient for us. The front desk staff was friendly, a big surprise was that one of them spoke our so difficult Finnish language!
The restaurant performed well in serving at least three coaches of tourists in reasonable time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Tuula K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is truly a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed 5 nights of accommodation with us and our friendly team looked after you well. We are certainly proud of our staff and the cultural diversity available in our hotel, which inturn enhances customer satisfaction and service. I will share your comments with our team as I am certain your feedback will serve as encouragement to all of them.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments. It is our hope to be able to welcome you back to Ibis Christchurch in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
1,768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Property: Ibis Christchurch
Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing