We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Pleasant Stay”
Review of Ibis Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Christchurch
Ranked #33 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Christchurch during my recent trip with SOTC to New Zealand and was pleasantly surprised. The Ibis is the street behind Cathedral Square, which seems to be the heart of the city centre. The girls on reception were most pleasant and helpful and happy to help. The rooms were decent sized. The bed (king) was most comfortable, not sagging in the middle something which i have experienced before in other hotels. Even the pillows were OK. Shower was hot & a good flow, lots of towels. I had no complaints. Cleanliness was proper at the hotel. I would definitely stay here again and suggest this hotel even to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelhiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear DelhiGlobeTrotter,
Thank you for your very complimentary review of the hotel facilities and staff. We are very pleased to have such dedicated people working at the hotel and your comments will be excellent motivation for them to keep up the good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 961 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was re-opened in September 2012 and everything was very new and clean. The room was big enough for two of us and the bed was comfortable. The only down side was the shower pressure which was really weak. Otherwise, we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TAKLAYTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Taklayton,
Thank you for your very positive comments about the hotel and also for pointing out where improvements need to be made. We believe that we have been able to identify any issues with the showers since you stayed in September and that this has been resolved. We hope to see you back at the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights pre and post tour. Everything went smoothly.Rooms were a bit compact , but then we had 2 comfortable double beds in the room.
The staff were helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good.
The location was fine by us and close to Restart mall and not far from. Avon River, Botanical gardens & Canterbury Museum

Room Tip: 8th floor has a view of the Cathedral Square red Zone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoRenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear BrunoRenato,

Thank you for your very positive comments about the hotel and particularly regarding the food and the staff. We are very proud of the team that we have put together and we often get excellent comments about their helpfulness and friendliness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed one night in the Ibis Hotel in Christchurch 25th October.
Getting to the hotel was difficult with many roads closed due to earthquake damage.
The rooms were the typical size for an Ibis hotel but were clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Matt1811027,

Thanks for your comments and it was great to see that you ranked us highly in most areas. You mentioned that it was difficult to get to the hotel due to the roadsbeing closed. As repairs to the city are made and the cordon around the damaged parts of the CBD are reduced, the access will get better and better. We are working closely with the authorities in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We didn't stay here but we were for lunch and I have to say the service was so long - the man in the resturant didn't seem to know what he was doing and the food didn't all come out at once and we were the only ones there.
No music just an emtpy place with unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Joshtherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Joshtherock,

Thanks for your comments about your lunch visit. We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations but are working hard to make improvements so that you can come back and enjoy the atmosphere and the service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in a single room on business trip. Hotel was central and all but brand new (mainly due to earthquake). Room was small and bathroom was microscopic, but I find this normal in the Ibis range of hotel, not really a bad thing as I knew it is what Ibis do, room was clean and modern, found the very small wall mounted TV a bit stange and not many channels to choose from.

Staff were great, hotel is right in the red zone and not much open around it yet, but it is just across the road from the temporary "Container shopping area" which has plenty of cafe's etc, however I did find almost everything shut by sundown which limited eating choices to the hotel or driving to another location. In room internet access was very expensive and is only real drawback I found with hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GW666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear GW666,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your recent stay at Ibis Christchurch. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments.

I am pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed the location of the hotel and the re-start mall, but also found our rooms to be clean and modern and staff to be friendly and helpful.

I will certainly share your comments with the team. as I am certain this will serve as an encouragement to all involved.

Once again, thank you for your comments. I look forward to being able to welcome you back to Ibis Christchurch in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great location, particularly for the price. Having recently been rebuilt, it is nice to have everything new. However, I had a very uncomfortable night's sleep. The room is completely sealed - so you are forced to have the air conditioner on for air (which I don't like sleeping with it on). Furthermore, the pillows on the bed were WAY to thick, which gave me a sore neck. It wasn't much of a consolation to find smaller pillows hanging in the wardrobe the next morning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim D, General Manager at Ibis Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear druckey,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay at Ibis Christchurch. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and our recent renovation.

You are correct in the fact that none of our rooms have openable windows, hence we provide central airconditioning through out the hotel. This is a safety feature we find in most high rise, central city, hotels in New Zealand. As you also mentioned we do provide extra pillows for your convenience in the wardrobe in all our rooms to suit different guests' pillow preferences.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, as this ensures we are able to continue providing all our guests with superior levels of service, which we pride ourselves in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Christchurch

Address: 107 Hereford Street, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $90 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Christchurch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Christchurch is ready to welcome you. Adjacent to the new shopping heart of Christchurch, Cashell Mall. The "pop up" shopping precinct is the new vibrant heart of the city, featuring many new designer shops and modern cafes. Ibis Hotel Christchurch is very close to the famous Cathedral Square, the historic heart of the city providing easy access to the outer lying attractions and the airport. The Ibis features 155 contemporary rooms, restaurant OOPEN, a bar and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
Accor Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing