We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Motor Lodge
Ranked #122 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here on two separate occasions during our 17 day trip to the South Island.

Pros:
Free wifi.
Not too far from town if you don't mind walking a bit. Close to the great Speight's Ale House (also on Bealey Ave).
Front room is fairly modern.

Cons:
Asked for a quiet room, but they put us in the one closest to the road. I mean, I get it if we had just booked like a week before, but we booked in August for January! They originally had us in the room next to ours, but changed it. When questioned about this, the lady just said the other people had booked early. So had we!!! They did this for both our stays. I understand that requests cannot always be granted but, seriously, the NOISIEST one. Bit of a joke really.
Bathroom is very cramped and out-dated.
Uncomfortable bed.
There was some confusion with paperwork having booked through the Entertainment Book which led to them charging the wrong credit card for our 2nd stay. Paperwork said it would be paid on arrival, but they charged my card beforehand. This wouldn't have been a problem except that I was going to pay in NZ dollars in my MasterCard cash passport, but they instead charged my regular card in AUD, leading to a conversion fee.
I also agree with a previous reviewer about being able to understand a girl's English. Very difficult. The Kiwi girl (another person) was very prompt and friendly though.

Unfortunately I did not take a photo of the bathroom or kitchenette, just the front room with the bed.

Overall, I would not stay here again. Even though it is fairly reasonably priced (approx. $117NZ) and you get free wifi, they need to improve on their service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    12
    16
    8
See reviews for
27
22
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

1970's style motel with high occupancy at a price point just above budget means an affordable roof with tired decor: didn't bother us. Great for a quickie overnight crash-pad or for a couple of days. Bed was comfortable but a standard (small) small double. Was assigned an upstairs room which made it rather hot and stuffy due to summer conditions until we got all the windows open - downstairs might be cooler. Get what you pay for and it delivered for my partner and I.

Room Tip: Request a downstairs in summer and, I guess, an upstairs in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaston G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Booked for 2 nights but only stayed one, cancelled 2nd night and went to better accommodation.
Looked presentable from outside. Lady at reception English was difficult to understand. I was able to inform some out of town guests more about some of the local shops than the woman at reception. She was polite though. We stayed in room 3 and felt like we were sleeping right on the roadside. Very noisy. No double glazing. Windows so dirty could hardly see out them. Some tiles at entrance to room were sunk and a mat had been placed over these so high risk of an injury. Room décor very outdated and drab. Walls had plastered holes which had not been sanded or painted. Not even a picture on wall or an emergency evacuation information displayed. Corner in lounge(above the bed - see photo) had "tape" holding the wallpaper/plaster in place. Kitchenette had basic supplies but not sufficient for number of people the room could sleep. Cupboards in kitchenette - paint worn off in many places and the board shelves swollen and chipped in many places. Bathroom tidy except for some mouldy areas and split in wall by shower. Toilet was clean but large gap in wall behind toilet and in bedroom. plenty of heating available if needed. Beds comfortable. I checked out after our first night and I told the lady it was too noisy and poor standard. She did not appear worried and just said OK. Free Wi fi intermittent. Would not recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and glad we dud,had a end studio near road,didnt sleep well,traffic was noisy all night,lots of sirens and people walking past.kitchen outdated and shabby and the bathroom really small and pokey.wouldnt stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked a king studio at Abbey Motor Lodge for one night. I was given room # 9 which was by the road side and it felt like I was sleeping on the street. Extremely noisy. You can even hear people from the neighbouring room. Even though they provided free wifi, the signal strength was extremely poor and I had to stand at the door to stay connected. The Toilet door didnt have a handle. The reception closes at 9pm and there is no way you can contact anyone. I was up all night and when I complained the next morning, I was told there is nothing that can be done. Will never ever go back again.

Room Tip: Please dont stay here or you'll be up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGGT_AKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My advice is to avoid this place - there are plenty of other motels along the road. The night I spent there was just terrible. There were rats, mice or other little critters running in the walls - I was terrified that they would get in the room. There is no 24hr reception so no-one to contact so stayed awake all night with the light on. Left as soon as I could contacted the management afterwards but they were not interested. Stay away.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for a night in June. Motel had everything we needed and was clean and comforatble. The free wifi was a big plus! However we were in one of the end rooms (closest to the road) and the signal strength for the wifi was a bit iffy.
Motel was value for money and the staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisemichell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cranford Cottages and Motel
Cranford Cottages and Motel
#42 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#84 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Avalon Court Accommodation
Avalon Court Accommodation
#121 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#70 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#78 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Motor Lodge

Property: Abbey Motor Lodge
Address: 209 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Motor Lodge Christchurch welcomes all guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. Our spacious accommodation and convenient location provides travelers with exceptional affordability. Only minutes from the central city and Christchurch Casino the Abbey Motel is a great option when travelling to the Garden City. At Abbey Motor Lodge we offer a superb balance of comfort and style with a homely feel. Immaculately clean and well presented The Abbey Motel Christchurch offers 14 smart options, with plenty of flexibility. Choose from our one or Two Bedroom Suites, or one of our spacious Studio Suites, we cater for all guests and for all occasions. With the following facilities available, daily servicing, tea and coffee making facilities, full kitchen facilities, microwave, fridge/freezer, shower, desk, Sky TV, hi-speed wireless internet, ironing facilities, guest laundry and great breakfast options we have your needs covered. With all these facilities available we also provide every guest with quality service. Whether its local information or planning a day trip we are only too happy to provide our 5 star service. Our convenient location finds us next to Speight's Ale House and close to Southern Cross Hospital. We are on the Metro bus route and only 5mins from Intercity Coachlines, 10mins from the CBD Cathedral Square and city centre, 5min walk Convention Centre, Casino and Town Hall. We are 15 min drive from the Christchurch International Airport and close to Christchurch Women's/Public Hospital and Hagley Park. We also provide off-street parking and monitored safe parking for motorcycles and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing