We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, great value, free wifi”
Review of Abbey Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Motor Lodge
Ranked #120 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We booked in at the last minute after a long road trip back up to Christchurch. The owner was lovely and offered us free wifi, which was greatly appreciated. Room sizes were quite large, and the motel was clean, Yes, it is a little dated, however the beds were comfortable, and even though we were close to the road, we hardly heard any noise overnight.

We also checked out a little late, and it was no drama.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allese T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy1819, Manager at Abbey Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, we have been working very hard to provide better quality accommodation for all travellers. We would like to encourage all guests to provide feedback on all our services so we can make positive changes to benefit the next guest. We have a busy 18 months planned with some exciting renovations within our complex. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay. Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 89 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

The manager was very polite and helpful from the minute we booked, we were abit nervous when we read some of the reviews but on arrival were thrilled to find such a CLEAN motel- we have stayed at a well known four and a half star hotel that was more than double the price recently and were really disappointed with the standard of cleaning so was lovely to find a motel that obviously has pride in their rooms. Rooms have been renovated but are simple- not a honeymoon destination but I'd far rather a clean basic room than a flash dirty one! Will definately stay again thanks abbey motor lodge!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alioopsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I Stayed at the Abbey Motor Lodge for 2days .It's a warm and clean room,helpful information, good location etc. Very nice motel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YU Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

It's a wonderful experience staying here - friendly reception, warm and clean room, helpful information, good location etc. which makes my first night in NZ so memorable! Really appreciate your hospitality, my dear friends!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I Stayed at the Abbey Motor Lodge for 5 days in January.
I found the unit to be modern, well maintained, well serviced daily and the staff to be very helpful. The location of Abbey was great with many nice eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and although expecting a simple room, the one above the office was old, dirty and precarious. The manager was nice enough, but the place could really be heavily updated. Although the 2011 earthquake heavily damaged the city (not this lodge), there must be other alternatives. Do look for them.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annex_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I'm using the free WIFI to write this review. It's a nice motel with all necessary and functional facilities. Helpful and friendly staff. I'm very satisfied with the comfy bed and couch in lounge. Enjoyed the SKY movie and in house DVD. Convenient Store just located in the opposite cornor, where you can get simple grocery stuff. Recommend Speights Ale House restaurant within about 200m. Really enjoyed my short holiday here away from work. Will recommend to my friend and colleague.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FridayLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bealey Avenue Motel
Bealey Avenue Motel
#77 of 146 in Christchurch
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral Motel
Admiral Motel
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#85 of 146 in Christchurch
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#27 of 146 in Christchurch
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Motor Lodge

Address: 209 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Motor Lodge Christchurch welcomes all guests to enjoy a comfortable stay. Our spacious accommodation and convenient location provides travelers with exceptional affordability. Only minutes from the central city and Christchurch Casino the Abbey Motel is a great option when travelling to the Garden City. At Abbey Motor Lodge we offer a superb balance of comfort and style with a homely feel. Immaculately clean and well presented The Abbey Motel Christchurch offers 14 smart options, with plenty of flexibility. Choose from our one or Two Bedroom Suites, or one of our spacious Studio Suites, we cater for all guests and for all occasions. With the following facilities available, daily servicing, tea and coffee making facilities, full kitchen facilities, microwave, fridge/freezer, shower, desk, Sky TV, hi-speed wireless internet, ironing facilities, guest laundry and great breakfast options we have your needs covered. With all these facilities available we also provide every guest with quality service. Whether its local information or planning a day trip we are only too happy to provide our 5 star service. Our convenient location finds us next to Speight's Ale House and close to Southern Cross Hospital. We are on the Metro bus route and only 5mins from Intercity Coachlines, 10mins from the CBD Cathedral Square and city centre, 5min walk Convention Centre, Casino and Town Hall. We are 15 min drive from the Christchurch International Airport and close to Christchurch Women's/Public Hospital and Hagley Park. We also provide off-street parking and monitored safe parking for motorcycles and bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbey Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing