We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spotless”

Delago Motel Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delago Motel Apartments
Ranked #125 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
waikanae
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spotless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Room was spotless and very well appointed. new managers very hospitable. Location close to amenities. Would recommend

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gafferwaikanae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

We spent eight nights at the De Lago Motel Apartments and couldn't have been happier with the experience. On check-in we were warmly greeted by the manager who showed us to our room and even helped carry our bags. Our apartment was spotlessly clean, modern, stylishly decorated and spacious.
Even though we had a car it was an easy walk into the city and there were many great restaurants close by. Christchurch is a wonderful city with much to offer.
We are seasoned travellers with high standards and we would definetly recommend the De Lago Motel Apartments.

  • Liked — Clean and Modern
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed here twice for one night each time two weeks apart on a very tight travel schedule. The first time my wife was bit by fleas while sleeping. When leaving early the next morning we told the manager what had happened and very clearly asked to be assigned to any other room when we returned. When we did return in mid evening 2 weeks later we found that he had assigned us to the same room. We asked for another room because we were too rushed to change to another hotel. We were given a room that was obviously the hang out for the staff and it had two large flying insects in it. Furthermore the manager lied to us, personally insulted one of us, and acted very childishly. In 4 weeks of travel throughout the South & North Islands the manager of this hotel was the only person that we had a negative experience with ...
literally everyone else everywhere else was exceptionally terrific. There are numerous hotels in Christchurch so stay away from this one and its manager.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ottlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christchurch hotels

England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

The De Lago Motel in Christchurch is fairly new (opened 2006) and it shows in the freshness and excellent state of repair. Our one bedroom suite was beautifully furnished, spacious and came with all mod cons including flat screen TVs and high speed internet access, as well as a washer/dryer in the room - no slumming it in a shared laundry here!

It also had the best spa bath I've come across - a normal size bath with no fewer than 16 jets, which could be set to work on your back and feet, at the sides of the bath, or a mixture of both, which produced delightful gentle bubbles all round.

The location is good; at the town end of Papanui Road, giving easy access to both the town and the airport, though quiet enough that you should get an undisturbed night's sleep.

When we left, our host was ready with good advice on where to go on the last day of our holiday with a car full of cases and no space for any more shopping. Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Padders_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
283 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

We recently spent two nights here at the end of a three week visit to the South Island.

We had a unit with king sized bed on the second floor. The bed was incredibly comfortable and had quality linens and lots of pillows.

Our room was very nice with sleek decor, large flat screen TV, good sized bathroom and small kitchen area. It also had a washer/dryer combo that we had trouble figuring out, but it came in handy. Our room was spotless and very contemporary.

The unit could have used one less chair - it felt as if there was too little space for too much furniture, but otherwise it was great.

The only drawback for us was the noisy city location, but that was the case with all motels/hotels on this street.

  • Liked — Comfort and decor
  • Disliked — Noisy location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melnq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

All I can say about this place in wonderful! I found this place after research on Jasons and AA. I decided to give it shot. I'm so glad I did. It's a beautiful new motel/apartment.

From the beginning at check in with one of our hosts Nicci, she made us feel like we were her guests and we felt so welcome. She gave us advise on restaurants, how to get to town, etc. She walked us to our room and when she opened the door I was in awe. The interior is very modern. Comes with a mini kitchen with everything you need in it, compact washer and dryer and a wonderful little deck with tables and chairs, LCD flatscreen TV. The bathroom was just as modern and clean.

This place is located in Merivale, however it is closer to town than you think. They are only about a 10 minute walk to the cathedral. There are bus stops if you don't want to walk. I found it to be in a great location, and was quiet at night.

The only mistake we made was not staying long enough in Christchurch. This is a great place and so much to see. After speaking with our other host Adam he pointed out so many other great spots to check out in which we simply just ran out of time. We will have to go back and we will stay at de lago again.

You can find them directly at www.delagomotel.co.nz

A great place to eat while your in Christchurch is Annie's wine bar & restaurant. It's located in The Arts centre. We enjoyed it so much we ate lunch and dinner there one day.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spookey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#38 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#61 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.1 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#24 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milano Motor Lodge
Milano Motor Lodge
#50 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tuscana Motor Lodge
Tuscana Motor Lodge
#25 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delago Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delago Motel Apartments

Property: Delago Motel Apartments
Address: 31 Papanui Rd, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delago Motel Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delago Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Lago Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing