We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best place in Christchurch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salerno Motel Apartments
Ranked #64 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Okay, I'm a little biased, but that's because Pauline and Brendan make me feel like I'm home when I stay with them. I see that they treat other guests the same way. Being in the Hotel/Motel business is a very demanding job and they are good at it. Never seen them lose their patience, always kind and courteous to all guests, and the rooms are so nice! It's important not to take advantage of people like them because they are so accommodating. You can take away what you want to from any place you stay, but if you're looking for good quality in comfort and hospitality, Salerno won't let you down. Maybe the internet isn't fast enough and you might have to keep your valuables put away, but I've been around the world a couple of times and I don't know that I've stayed anywhere that doesn't apply, not even in my own house. You should always keep your valuables put away, and if you want the highest of online speeds, well, there are internet cafes all over Christchurch that offer this service, otherwise you should probably just stay home and surf the internet looking at pictures of all the places you could be out exploring. At least they will come up fast for you.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
Thank SkuaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 245 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2010

We picked the motel because it looked reasonably new and offered high speed internet. On arrival it was in good condition and new but an L shape with all motel units having a complete glass fronts with vertical blinds and a curtain. It is necessary to keep the front door open for ventilation.as there is only a very small window in the rear. Salerno is keep immaculately clean but you come back to your room and find all the curtains and vertical blinds reopened by the house cleaning staff (same for all the units). Make sure you put any valuables out of sight, assume when you return everything will be on display. Now the internet - their big feature the high speed internet s $11.25 per day and is little faster than dial up. Summary - noisy main road, spotlessly clean, no privacy and slow internet.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Very good value for money compared to staying in a Hotel in the middle of town. Good location, no road noise & owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JROE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The motel is on a busy road but once inside the apartments ( which have double glazing) noise is not a problem. The apartments are finished to a very high standard and are extremely comfortable. The centre of Christchurch is only 10 minutes walk away - great to park the car and forget about it for a couple of days!!!
The owners are extremely friendly and very helpful. We will certainly use it again should we find ourselves in Christchurch on another occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KawauNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great location, very nice approachable management, perfect room for my family - excellent!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
Thank MayHemKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

close walk to downtown, super clean and well equipped apartments. friendly and helpful owners. an overall great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Thank you to both of you, you made our stay in Christchurch very comfortable, even adding an extra day to our stay was no problem for you. We highly recommend your establishment to whoever would like to stay in Christchurch, beautifully decorated and a kitchen that is fully equipt with everything you may need, a TV in every room and extremely comfortable beds!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JI65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#37 of 146 in Christchurch
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellano Motel Suites
Bellano Motel Suites
#71 of 146 in Christchurch
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Colombo in the City
Colombo in the City
#13 of 146 in Christchurch
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Motel Apartments

Address: 148 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#42 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $94 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salerno Motel Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Motel is the complete accommodation experience. Combining the lovely decor and amenities of a five star quality hotel, with personalized service usually only associated with a fully serviced motel. Well-placed in the business, culture, sightseeing area of Christchurch city and close to the city as it is being revitalized, Salerno Motel Apartments provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the 5-star motel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as the Canterbury Museum and the Botanic Gardens as well as being close to Victoria Street Cafe's, Bars and Restaurants. The Southern Cross Hospital is also an easy two minute walk and it is a 5 minute walk to North Hagley Park and the Events Pavillion.At Salerno Motel Apartments, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. For the comfort and convenience of guests the hotel offers, Wi-Fi in public areas, disabled facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, car park, and cooked and continental breakfasts.Salerno's accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience. The motel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Salerno Motel Apartments is a smart choice for travelers to Christchurch, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Salerno Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Salerno Hotel Apartments
Salerno Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing