We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally 5 star hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salerno Motel Apartments
Ranked #66 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Brendon and Pauline's focus on the customer and going the extra mile was amazing. They continually amazed us at foreseeing our needs over and over, and always delivering a solution with a smile. Nothing was too much of a problem, truly professional hosts!

The 2 bedroom was so spacious and easy to live in for a month, we have recommended it to friends.

You guys deserve all the success that being great at what you do brings.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWandCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 245 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

When we were looking for accomodation in christchurch we were shocked at the prices, yes it was Easter but that didn't justify the astronomical prices until we got to the Salermo & meet our neighbours. Their house is still uninhabitable after the earthquake & live at the motel. There are thousands of others in a similar situation across the city which has caused a shortage & pushed the prices up.
Our room - a 2 bed apartment was spacious & clean with a large kitchen & comfy beds. Apart from the price we had no complaints about the room. The staff aren't as helpful as others on our trip, they struggled to provide advice on the basics like where to eat etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night before flying back to the uk after a trip around the South Island. We found that given the reviews on trip adviser the motel was expensive for what it was. Although very clean our room was basic and extremely dark. We were on the ground floor so had to close the curtains to get any privacy as there was no other windows except for the patio door. It did the job but we wouldn't use again. Also having to pay to use wifi wasn't expected given the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are average but over priced, good central location, no nice extras like you would expect at a motel at this price point. There's better in Christchuch, I noticed after three visits this year that this city's accommodation is now very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WELLYFOODIE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It’s taken a long time to write but stayed here in September 2011 for the Rugby World Cup.
After the earthquake we still decided to visit Christchurch for 4 nights (1 or 2 nights too many due to the circumstances) as this was our first stop after flying for so long.
The motel was the best we stayed in New Zealand and would highly recommend it.

We had a fully kitchen with everything you could ask for including dishwasher and washing machine. 2 bedrooms and a lounge with a sofa bed that were very comfortable. 1 en-suite bathroom and a separate bathroom were also in our apartment.

The reception staff / owners were very accommodating and would help you with anything you needed or wanted with no trouble at all.

If Christchurch was back up and fully running it was very close to the city which had lots of restaurants and bars.

I would defiantly stay here again if visited Christchurch again in about 10 year’s time.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizzy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We loved staying here. We arrived later than expected. Brandon (mgr) was waiting for us and he was delightful. He and his wife we so gracious...they made us feel so welcome. Even took time to sit and visit with us. Apt was spacious and clean. Had everything we needed. We stayed 2 nights. easy walk to Botanic gardens --which I would recommend. table and chairs on patio--which is in front and perfect. walking distance to restaurants. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy-by-trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights and with all the Hotels in the City pretty well gone we were a little worried, but we loved our stay here, fantastic little Cafe' just down the road for Breasfast and good coffee, we had a lovely room very spacious, all n all you are not far from anywhere, would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#31 of 146 in Christchurch
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motor Inn
Belmont Motor Inn
#36 of 146 in Christchurch
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellano Motel Suites
Bellano Motel Suites
#62 of 146 in Christchurch
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
CentrePoint on Colombo Motel
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terra Vive Luxury Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#27 of 146 in Christchurch
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salerno Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salerno Motel Apartments

Address: 148 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#29 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#43 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $92 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salerno Motel Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salerno Motel is the complete accommodation experience. Combining the lovely decor and amenities of a five star quality hotel, with personalized service usually only associated with a fully serviced motel. Well-placed in the business, culture, sightseeing area of Christchurch city and close to the city as it is being revitalized, Salerno Motel Apartments provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break.From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the city has to offer. A haven of rest and relaxation, the 5-star motel will offer total renewal just steps away from the city's numerous attractions such as the Canterbury Museum and the Botanic Gardens as well as being close to Victoria Street Cafe's, Bars and Restaurants. The Southern Cross Hospital is also an easy two minute walk and it is a 5 minute walk to North Hagley Park and the Events Pavillion.At Salerno Motel Apartments, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. For the comfort and convenience of guests the hotel offers, Wi-Fi in public areas, disabled facilities, laundry service/dry cleaning, car park, and cooked and continental breakfasts.Salerno's accommodations have been carefully appointed to the highest degree of comfort and convenience. The motel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Salerno Motel Apartments is a smart choice for travelers to Christchurch, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salerno Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salerno Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
Salerno Hotel Apartments
Salerno Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing