We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay in Christchurch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anselm House
Ranked #57 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I recently traveled to New Zealand and made reservations at Anselm House Bed and Breakfast for the day of our arrival as well as the night before we left the wonderful world of Southern Island New Zealand.
Our hosts, Leigh and Jan, were absolutely marvelous. We felt more like family than we did overnight guest.
Jan is a wonderful cook serving us a hardy breakfast with lots of homemade goodies to enjoy. Both Leigh and Jan had many travel thoughts that they shared with us to help us in our travels.
When we return to New Zealand this will be a spot on our itinerary.
Thank you Leigh and Jan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Anselm House was our first experience of a B&B in New Zealand, and what a wonderful experience it was. Jan and Leigh were very friendly, gave us good advice on what to see, including the beautiful Mona Vale House, and made us feel at home in their beautiful home. Our bedroom was very comfortable, and Jan's breakfasts were delicious. We walked into the city and explored the sights, and also were able to get a feel of the local area and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

This was our first night on our first trip to New Zealand. after checking out on trip adviser we decided to book, we have not been disappointed,Jan and Leigh were great hosts.we stayed in the river room ( a lovely room) waking to a view if the Avon drifting past the window each morning, the room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit,cereal, and cooked setting us up for a full day exploring, We found and restaurants and shops within easy walking distance
When we visit Christchurch again (I am sure we will) we will be looking to stay at this delightful Bed and Breakfast again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Anselm House is on a busy street, but with a brook babbling beside the house and an inviting flower garden you forget the traffic. It is a 2 room B&B run by the most accommodating, well-informed and friendly hosts, Jan and Leigh Webber. I don't know what is more enjoyable - their conversation at breakfast or the breakfast itself. The house is out of the tourist center of Christchurch so the restaurants are less expensive and you feel like you are with Kiwis not tourists. It is a bit of a walk into town, but bus service is close.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jgmArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

We stayed at Anselm House at the beginning of December for 2 nights. Leigh and Jan had been out of town just before our stay and weren't due back until later on on the day of our arrival. However, they told us this when we booked and made alternative arrangements for us to be greeted to suit us. Upon arrival we were served tea and biscuits in the garden which was lovely. The following day, Jan and Leigh got up early to make sure we had a full breakfast before Leigh drove us to the railway station for our trip over to Arthur's Pass and picked us up again upon our return. While we were out for the day Jan did 3 loads of washing for us for a nominal charge, which was great, We stayed in the River Room, which was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious on both days and the use of their computer and access to the internet was very much welcomed. Jan and Leigh are great hosts and it was very nice chatting to them over breakfast. We only spent an afternoon/evening in Christchurch, but we loved it. Would definitely recommend Anselm House.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

This was our second visit to Christchurch and we chose to return to Anselm House due to the great hospitality that had been proffered on our visit in 2009. Jan and Leigh are a very friendly couple, keen to help out whenever they can but are not 'fussy' with it. They share their beautiful home and do all they can to make sure you are as comfortable as possible. We chose the alternative room to the river room on this occasion for a change and it was very spacious overlooking the rear of the property and plenty of room for our suitcases as this was our last stop before leaving New Zealand. Great choice of breakfast and variety of soft and hot drinks with fruit throughout the day. Even better this year was the access to high speed wireless internet. I am sure we will be back..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorksHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Jan and Leigh absolutely charming.. They are happy to meet guests at the airport and deliver to the Transalpine station. Anselm house has a beautiful riverside location and garden.
Buses run to the town centre or you can walk via the Botanic gardens.
Their home is immaculate. Breakfast was delicious.
They hold an environmental award which influenced our decision to stay with them.
Recommended without reservation!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#31 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
Kauri Motel on Riccarton
#10 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 139 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.0 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
2.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Property: Anselm House
Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing