We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and convenient Christchurch B & B”
Review of Anselm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anselm House
Ranked #50 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Anselm House on our last night in New Zealand - having toured for 25 days staying in an array of hotels and 3 other first class B & Bs. For us, Anselm House was well located. We had no difficulty in finding it having travelled up the SH1 from Dunedin. It was an easy up Findelton Road/Memorial Road the next day to drop our hire car before flying out of Christchurch Airport. We appreciated Leigh's offer to collect and drop us but it was not needed.

Jan and Leigh are good hosts, making you fill very welcome and providing a good breakfast in a social and unrushed manner.

The house is spacious and situated in an interesting garden through which the river meanders providing a lovely environment. It is a very short walk - 5 minutes to Riccarton Bush and the Westfield Mall where there are a reasonable selection of average restaurants; 10 minutes to Hagley Park and 20 minutes to the Botanic Gardens and City Centre. Christchurch is a lovely city in which we spent 4 happy nights in 2009 but is now tragically ravaged by the serious earthquake in February 2011 with tremours still being felt. The signs of this most sad disaster are very evident - not just in the city centre - but even Anselm House has a significant crack in an external front garden wall that adjoins the neighbouring road bridge. This does not affect the House and nobody should have any concerns about staying there.

We enjoyed our stay in the River Room named for its marvellous view. It was a comfortable double bed with a well-appointed en-suite bathroom. Nothing special but provided us with a good night's sleep and a relaxed departure for the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyMolestrangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Anselm House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Anselm House during our 3 week visit to NZ - at the beginning, middle and end of our holiday. We could not have found a better place - Jan and Leigh are fabulous hosts who could not have been more accommodating. We stayed in both rooms (our favourite was the River Room), breakfast was excellent and if we ever go back to Christchurch, we will head straight for Anselm House!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnieb1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Completely agree with all the superlatives heaped on Anselm House and its lovely owners, Jan & Leigh. We couldn't have asked for a nicer start to our first day of our first trip to NZ. The house and garden are just beautiful, even with post-earthquake steel girders supporting the external walls and small cracks inside. But the house is structurally sound and we had no worries staying there. Most houses in Chch have suffered some degree of quake damage and structural engineers have inspected them. Our room was warm & comfy with very pretty view of the stream running beside the garden. Location is good too -- a pleasant 10 min walk to Hagley Park, 15 mins to the Botanic Gardens, 5 mins to humongous Westfield mall and restaurants in Riccarton. Breakfast was lavish and delicious. Leigh drove us to the railway station early the next morning. Only regret was we didn't stay more than 1 night!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lantauloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I'd like to point out that all the excellent reviews about this B&B is true. It is a home away from home, the hosts Jan and Leigh are genuinely nice and loving people. The breakfast was AWESOME and the location is just perfect as well. Coming to a new city I just wasn't sure what I was going to get, but all my needs was met. This beautiful 'home' is where I would stay again during my next trip.
Vik

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay. The hosts were very accommodating and stayed up until 3am because might flight was late. The next day they even drove me to my client meeting.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gudavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The charming home is situated in an historic precinct, surrounded by many grand old homes. Located in the centre of Christchurch, it is a short walk to shops, restaurants, parks and a unique forest that is a remnant of the past before European settlement.

Our hosts, Leigh and Jan, were most welcoming and we enjoyed good conversation with them, learning much about Christchurch, its beautiful old homes and the effect of the earthquakes on the city and its inhabitants. Anslem House only had minor damage and we were glad to hear that this beautiful home has stood up well to the June earthquakes and remains open for business.

We intend to go back to Anslem House. Our room was warm and comfortable, with views across the river to stately gardens. There is so much more that we want to explore and there is much to see within walking distance of charming Anslem House.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed there last year. We had the oportunity to stay in both rooms, which are equally nice.
Loved the stay and the quality of the service.
My regards and hope they are doing good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,904 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#133 of 146 in Christchurch
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anselm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anselm House

Address: 34 Kahu Road | Fendalton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $132 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features & Attractions: Free personal Airport transfer and TranzAlpine /Coastal transfer— Free Wireless LAN, email available —Secure off-street parking — Short walk to banks, mall, restaurants — Outdoor tables by Avon River — Walk to Hagley Park, Botanical Gardens — Handy to University & Mona Vale — TV in each bedroom — On bus route. Kia ora! Jan and Leigh welcome you to Anselm House, situated on the bank of the Avon River, central Christchurch. Anselm House is a landmark home designed by the famous New Zealand architect Heathcote Helmore and is constructed of pink Hanmer marble in which fossilized shells can be seen. Guests are welcome to enjoy the riverside garden or to cross over the brick bridge and visit historic Riccarton House and Deans Forest. Cathedral Square, The Art Centre, Art Gallery and Museum are an easy walk through Hagley Park and the Botanical gardens. Canterbury University and Mona Vale are also within easy walking distance. As New Zealanders, we offer friendly, genuine kiwi hospitality. We are willing to help with travel suggestions. We are endorsed as KiwiGreen Certified using only eco-friendly products and practices which minimise our carbon footprint. An evening meal is offered by arrangement. Free 24 hour coffee /tea accessible with cookies and seasonal fruit; a fridge is available for guests' use. Tariffs: Doubles from NZ$ 190.00 per night, per couple. Singles from NZ$ 170.00 per night. Longer stays by negotiation. All enquiries are answered within 24 hours. Interests include agriculture, horticulture, medicine, rugby, sport and education. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing