We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located between the Airport and the City”
Review of Colonial Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn Motel
Ranked #71 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A well run, clean motel with ground and first floor rooms. Rooms quite spacious with adequate luggage racks and storage. Beds comfortable and warm. Bathrooms well maintained with shower, and very clean. A laundry room available. Although we did not use the facility, each room had a kitchenette with up to date and well maintained equipment. Friendly staff. Breakfast available nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 66 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent two nights here recently, one at the start of our trip and again at the end. Was booked in room 20(upper floor) the first visit and room 2 (ground floor) the second.

Both rooms were cosy and functional and also comfortable. Good location as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We’ve just returned from a five night stay here. It was above average for this type of accommodation with a separate kitchen and fairly large bathroom. During the day it was more than comfortable ... but if you like soft pillows you’ll need to take your own!!! (I hit the shops the first morning!).
The staff were friendly and helpful and apart from the pillows, the only down side was that the place tended to get a bit noisy early in the mornings. I presume that it’s because the tradies helping to rebuild this beautiful city are taking up a fair chunk of the motel accommodation in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qhunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

The lady at reception was very good, giving me directions to a local supermarket that was still open after nine pm.
My room was warm and clean and it was a great location for my stay in Christchurch. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

this was a very clean unit and lovely stay under the circumstances....but good family time after losing our only aunt!....The room was just a good size for sharing with my sister and the girls where in a lovely studio downstairs... There was plenty of parking and the lovely lady let me park my campervan around the back...Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxedSouthIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel spotless we had a back room away from the traffic noise nothing is to much trouble for the staff very welcoming an easy walk to the casino and shopping center lots of food places nearby and good petrol station all you need for a short stay.

Room Tip: ask for one away from very front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JakeyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A friend and myself stayed here for just one night as we had bought 2 motorbikes in Christchurch and needed overnight accommodation prior to riding our new machines back the next day. We had a two bedroom family unit and it was faultless. Superbly comfortable beds, very good heating on a chilly winter night, large rooms and great facilities. We checked out the next morning and my friend received a phone call to his cell phone some time later that morning to advise I had left a big bunch of keys behind. The lady went above and beyond what any reasonable person would be expected to do, calling at least 3 phone numbers in order to get a cellphone number to contact us. This place rocks and the staff are quite exceptional. Note to owners: look after that delightful lady who cleans the rooms. As I said to her when I picked up my keys - her blood's worth bottling!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2. Quiet and in mint condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurrayRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.0 mi away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#43 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#27 of 146 in Christchurch
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
Annabelle Court Motel
Annabelle Court Motel
#81 of 146 in Christchurch
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
#131 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Glen Lodge
Country Glen Lodge
#50 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn Motel

Address: 43 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Inn Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing