We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Addington Stadium Motel
Ranked #98 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We chose the Addington Stadium Motel because we were on our way to Akaroa and well situated for proximity to banks peninsula. We felt so welcome and our room was exceptionall y comfortable with no traffic noise whatsoever. A real find in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Addington Stadium Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 67 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2010

We had two nights at this motel, the owners were very friendly offering advice and generally sharing themselves around the guests.

The facilities excellent, would stay again in a flash, beautiful and clean.
Handy to where we needed to be, lovely bathroom and a good bed, which is essential.

Really ample parking space too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We stayed here based on previous reviews and the need to get quickly to the Trans Alpine train in the morning before 8 am.

Despite being on the corner of a very busy road, we didn't hear any traffic noise from inside the motel room - windows were closed and it would probably have been a different story if they had been open).

Electric blankets on the bed and a wall heater, plus bath with jet bubbles made for a very cosy stay. The pillows and bed were very comfortable. Everything in the room was immaculately clean, and Bob and Ngarita were fabulous and friendly hosts.

We got a free ride to the station the next morning in very good time to catch the train.

For those wanting to use buses to get to and from the city, buses number 7 and 77 are the ones to take or else it is about a half-hour walk from the city centre. I managed to book this motel studio room for $5 less on wotif.com than any other booking website (including the motel's own website).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

On a recent trip to Christchurch, we decided to stay at the Addington Stadium Motel due to its proximity to the things we planned to do while there. We were pleasantly surprised by the layout of the motel and the warm and friendly hospitality we experienced from Bob and Ngarita the owners. We loved our room (we recived a complimentary upgrade!) and while the motel is close to roads, we found the room to be quiet and relaxing. Additionally, it had everytthing we needed to self cater - the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was exceptionally clean, everything was bright and shiny. It was truly a pleasure to come home to at night! Thanks Bob & Ngarita for your friendly, helpful advice and for taking the time to give us (walking) directions to Westpac Stadium.
We look forward to seeing you both on our next trip to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrudyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night. We chose it because of its close proximity to the Tranz-Alpine train and they offer a complimentary drop off. We were not disappointed. It proved to be very comfortable, immaculately clean with hosts that were cheery and welcoming. Our room was on the ground floor at the front but we slept well and didn’t hear any traffic noise.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritintheOrient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

I stayed in the Addington Stadium Motel in Christchurch for three nights. After a phone call Bob (the owner) picked me up from the train station (and upon departure took me back again). The rooms are spacious, they have everything you need and are absolutely spotless! I was very impressed with the service I received throughout my stay. Owners Bob & Ngarita Stewart are the friendliest motel people I’ve come across so far. Helpful with anything you may come up with. I felt very well looked after. More like a member of the family than a guest. There is a supermarket just across the street. Bus stop to Christchurch is just down the road and the return bus stop is across the street. The bus takes you right into the city within ten minutes. The Addington Stadium Motel offers very good value for money. I strongly recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernweh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

We stayed at the Addington Stadium Motel for one night on our arrival in Christchurch in mid October 2006.The motel was a $40 taxi ride from the airport but we had chosen it specifically for it's proximity to the railway station and the fact that they offered a free shuttle to the station on check-out.The motel itself was quite modern and very clean though basic in it's decor with a small well stocked kitchenette. Although the motel is situated on a main road the street noise is minimal and there is a convenience store opposite and a McDonalds nearby. It is about a 10 minute drive into the city by taxi with little to see in close walking distance to the motel so if you want to be more central to tourist spots this may not be the motel to book. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions and city information.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toowoombatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Addington Court Motel
Addington Court Motel
#50 of 146 in Christchurch
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Econolodge Canterbury Court
#88 of 146 in Christchurch
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#52 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arena Motel
Arena Motel
#32 of 146 in Christchurch
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
319 Addington Motel
319 Addington Motel
#18 of 135 in Christchurch
30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Addington Stadium Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Stadium Motel

Address: Corner Lincoln & Wrights Road,, Christchurch, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $81 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Addington Stadium Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Addington Stadium Motel is located close to the railway station (free transfer); 20 minutes drive from the airport and just 8 minutes drive to the centre of Christchurch city. Hosts Bob and Ngarita provide 15 modern studio, 1 and 2 bedroom Qualmark 4-star rated self contained accommodation and unsurpassed hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Addington Stadium Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Addington Stadium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing