We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 1st night in Jail!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2008

A bit of a novelty staying at the Jailhouse, the 1st time we'd experienced chokey!
A squeaky clean hostel, nice staff, the cells are clean, beds comfy etc.
Only slight gripes are:
a) Quite far from City Centre
b) Nothing to do near hostel that interested us
c) Noise amplified because of all the metal/concrete & high ceilings.
That said, we really enjoyed our night here, & the staff booked us a taxi the next day.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianGFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 501 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a prison converted into a backpackers' hostel. I booked a couple of nights there for the novelty value, rather than the scenery, and found it to be very clean, comfortable and well run, and the 'wardens' to be very helpful. Continual piped music a bit annoying, but very quiet during 'lock down' from 10pm to 8am.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LancashireTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

If you're backpacking and want a clean, cheap and fun, interesting place to stay in Chch then choose this place. My son and I needed a place to stay in Chch for a night and took a punt on the Jailhouse. It was great.

It was a real prison. You sleep in a cell, which is enjoyably spooky, and we found it a real laugh. Neat, clean bunkbeds in a narrow, high prison cell is what you get. The place is ultra-clean, well-run and with nice facilities - a TV room, coffee-making facilities, snacks and prison showers. They even have good tourist info. It's spartan and white, but somehow made warm and welcoming. There's a real atmosphere about the place, friendly, and a little bit weird as well.

For a cheap, friendly place that's right in the centre of Christchururch, and if you want something that's a bit different then choose this. It's better than your ordinary run-of-the-mill backpacker place. If you want a bed for the night, inside, choose the Jailhouse - it'll add to your memories of Chch.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2008

The Jailhouse is a cool concept and the building itself retains many original features from when it served as an actual jail. Our double room was quite large and loved the TV and DVD player in the room. DVD could be borrowed free of charge from reception. The bathroom and kitchen facilities were adequate. My only complaint is that it is extremely loud in the building. It is all open with high ceilings, lots of concrete and metal and even just regular talking is amplified.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Wynne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

This a nice budget accom set in a converted jailhouse. I stayed in a double room which was a small room with bunk beds. The area is quite open and hence could be noisy if you had a rowdy crowd in but the clientele when I was there were mainly families etc.

You use communal showers which was a bit of a pain as I was on ground level and the showers were on the next floor up so you had a bit of a trek to get to them. The rooms are clean but basic.

Wireless internet cost 10NZD for 5 hours and it does NOT work in the rooms if you have your door closed due to the thickness of the walls. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable and there is a huge array of information available and DVD’s to watch. Everywhere is spotless and it is well run.

There is a free shuttle to the bus station (reception will book it for you) although you could easily walk it as well. Shuttles from the airport to your door cost 20 NZD.

The worst aspect is that it is a bit far away from the centre of town but there are regular bus services if you did not want to get a taxi or walk it. This is a really good place to stay if you are doing one of the train routes particularly the 7am scenic trip up the east coast of the south island to Wellington with potential stop offs in Kaikura for whale watching or dolphin swimming, Blenheim for wineries etc.

Overall I really liked the jailhouse albeit due to its small size it is more likely to feel a bit dead than other hostels depending on who is staying there. It also has a large free parking area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheIrishFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Fantastic hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bristol-Noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2007

The jailhouse is a great option for travelers to Christchurch. The place just opened last year, so all the facilities are new and clean, with really comfy beds. Very nice shared tv room with flat screen tv and free dvd rentals. The internet room has at least 4 computers, and they also offer wireless for those with laptops. It was fun to stay in a "real" jail cell as your room still has the original cell door. Very fun place with lots of helpful people. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank phene15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#10 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Haka Lodge Christchurch
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
198 reviews
3.6 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 108 in Christchurch
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 140 in Christchurch
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $22 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing