We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest place that I ever stayed in Christchurch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Coolest place that I ever stayed in Christchurch!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Coolest place that I ever stayed in Christchurch!

With a great idea of turning a jail into a BBH, I think Jailhouse has stand out among others. The room is really clean with comfortable beds. Kitchen is well equipped. Each room has their own place to store the food. The staffs are friendly and polite. Free WIFI (one hour). There are also historic art piece (originals done by an inmate in the jail) can be seen in the special room. Tools/equipments which were used in jail are well displayed.

Overall, it's well-maintained, clean and comfortable. If you are planing to pay a visit to Christchurch, make sure you give yourself a few nights in this incredible Jailhouse. Highly recommended accommodation in the town!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keona_yee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    207
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
20
133
180
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very interesting staying in an old jailhouse. Each room is an old jail cell. My room had bunkbeds (as many did).. I was glad I did not end up sharing the room cause there is not much space to put your belongings. Place was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only drawback is if people were talking in the hallways it echoed and you could hear noise in your room, not sure there is any fix for this other than to enforce quite time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

One of the coolest hostel to stay in Christchurch! Love the idea of changing a real jail to a hostel. The staffs are friendly. Hostel is very clean and tidy. Travelers who are looking for an exciting and comfortable place to stay in Christchurch are recommended to stay in jailhouse! Thumbs up! Keep it up ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonyanghm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

we stayed for 3 days in April 2012. rooms were small- (theyre not lying when they say they are cells)- with bunk beds. comfy and clean- all you can ask for really!!
there is a shared kitchen, where you can cook your own food, with plenty of storage space, like fridges etc. They had bikes that were available to use, which was nice. Staff were just other travellers funding their own trips, and were very friendly. Location is good, although unfortunately much of the city centre was still closed off due to the earth quake.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Jailhouse upon arrival and departure from Christchurch in November 2011. It was as described an old jailhouse with the cells turned into bedrooms. The late check in instructions were most helpful. If you are elderly, ensure you book a downstairs room and my Grandma had trouble getting up and down the stairs. The communal areas are clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vectra113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

It took ages to check in. The guy (disinterested blonde German) ignored us and eventually checked us in, a member of staff told him to show us to our room and he said he was busy (he wasn't) and then he said he couldn't be bothered (way to make us feel welcome). We then got told the wrong directions to our room. It was noisy outside the rooms at night (drunk people just echoed) The beds are very hard and no good if you're tall. Very overrated and a trek from the centre. Only good thing is you can get a prison style photo (in outfits that are never cleaned).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for one night here on my South Island trip. It was really cool to actually stay in a room that was once a real cell. The staff were friendly and gave good suggestions for food and drinks around the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jailnz, Owner at Jailhouse Accommodation, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to rate our unique hostel. Glad you had a great stay, yes we have a lot of fantastic new bars and cafes in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#28 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 103 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing