We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a jail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jailhouse Accommodation
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad for a jail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night with a few friends in a 6 bed dorm which was pretty big! We figured it couldn't have been a cell at the old prison but maybe an office or something. Definitely not complaining about that!

The place was generally quite clean & well run, especially considering the age of the building. Displays of some items from the prison days in the corridors were a nice touch, as were all the other themed stuff which just makes it stand out as somewhere a bit different to stay.

All staff members we dealt with were very friendly & helpful.

Only downsides for me were the lack of a room to store bags in, we just left them under the stairs for the day (ok for me as I don't have much valuable in there/ others might worry a bit more) & the front desk not being open too late. Noticed the names of people still to check in & their room keys were left on the desk for when the arrived where anyone could take them.

Wouldn't let either of those stop me from staying though, fun place to stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jimbob17S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    207
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
20
133
179
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night and it was an experience. The double rooms came with towels and soap as well as were surprisingly warm. Small but comfortable rooms, but what did we expect sleeping in a cell :) Some rooms have been kept in their original state and provide interesting glimpses into the past. Great staff, nice facilities. Toilet is a bit squashed, but it is an old jailhouse and they have done pretty well with what they had to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sologirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenvale, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

It is quirky! It is different! It is a novelty and as such I enjoyed it. BUT, the price for a single private room is ridiculous compared to hostels I have stayed in all over the world, the foreign staff running the desk were utterly useless for any help with things to do and there is a total shut down of all noise, cinema, common areas etc at 9pm (except the front room), which honestly, in this area of town, leaves little to do.

Rooms are cold BUT they provide blankets and hot water bottles, it is spotlessly clean and the KIWI staff are amazing and AWESOMELY helpful for planning your holiday around NZ without trying to commission sell!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about staying in a jail ..... but it was fine and I slept well! It's definitely an interesting place to stay. Staff are really helpful, kitchen is good. It's about a 25 min walk into the city centre, but easily do-able.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clsw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Cool building and good enough location but because of the way the building is, every noise anyone makes anywhere in the entIre place echoes through everywhere making it fairly difficult to get a decent nights sleep.

Also there's no heaters in the rooms, even in the private rooms and Christchurch can get pretty cold.

Worst of all, check out is 10am and at about 945am, I went downstairs to store my luggage in the lockers for the day. When I got back less than 10 minutes later, the door to my room was wide open. I'd left only my most valuable an important things on my bed, only the things I didn't trust to lock away for the day, including my passport, wallet, tablet and phone. Turns out the staff opened the door as some kind of notice that it was time for me to leave (this was a private room! Not a dorm!). I went downstairs to reception to complain and even their clock hadn't turned 10am yet. They assured me this wasn't their policy but understandably I was pretty unhappy with the experience as I'm sure their staff wouldnt have accepted any liability if anything had gone missing. On the way out, I also heard another girl complaining that the same thing had been done to her room so unfortunately it wasn't an isolated incident.

Needless to say, I didn't leave too happy with the place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lia_p_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is propably one of the cleanest Backpackers that i have ever stayed in.
Every morning there is a really big group of people swarming out to clean this place.
It`s also pretty cool to stay in a former prison, some of the cells have been left in their original state, so you can see how it looked before this place was turned to a hostel.
It is really close to the big Hagley Park, and some walking minutes from the city centre.
Staff was super helpful and friendly, with great knowledge of the city and its surroundings.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthiasS600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here for a while. Brilliant facilities, really nice and clean. Staff are fun and friendly.
One of the best kitchens I've seen in a hostel before. Good location being very near the train station and rugby ground. Only a short walk into city centre. Have loads of fun here!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.5 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 102 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Accommodation

Property: Jailhouse Accommodation
Address: 338 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jailhouse Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest Budget Accommodation to the Railway Station! Award winning hostel. 'Author's Pick' in Christchurch for Lonely Planet and Rough Guide 2008. Top mid-sized Independent BBH hostel in NZ. WiFi. Free parking. Newly renovated heritage accommodation with a colourful history as the former Addington Prison. Private Single, Double, Twin bunk and Group/Family/Dorm rooms available in our budget Christchurch accommodation. Clean, warm, friendly with super-comfortable beds close to top Christchurch attractions. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jailhouse Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jailhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing