We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveler rating
229
222
45
17
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
222
45
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold jailhot water bottlesjail cellunique hostelnovelty factorinteresting place to stayperson dormaddington coffee co opdouble roomami stadiumnew zealandfree wifistayed here for one nightbeds were comfortablebotanic gardenshagley parksouth island
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 524 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

It really does still look like a jail! We had a double bed and there was still enough room for our bags etc. kitchen and communal areas were kept spotless.
It is a 15 to 20 minute walk into the city but it is through pleasant parkland.
The hostel don't really provide much info about where to eat but we had a Dominoes ( just up the main road) and also a great Chinese restaurant too.
All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The experience of staying in an old jail was amazing. It was great value for money, the staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms were very comfortable and clean and walking around the old cell block at night a little eerie! I recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chooken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Recommended to stay here by a couple we met in the Whitsundays.
Good location in a part of christchurch which wasn't damaged by the quakes. Close to botanical gardens, shops, cafes, restaurants etc..
Book in advance as accommodation is hard to come by post-quake. Place was very busy with lots of backpackers around as well as families and older couples.
Really nice renovation of a jail into a well thought out hostel. Rooms are obviously small given they used to be cells but our double for 84 NZD had a tv and was warm and comfortable.
Decent shared showers and toilets. TV room, lots of tables for lounging around, socialising, eating maccas etc...
Very friendly staff who were helpful in telling us where to go in Christchurch and beyond. Recommended a drive up to a view point by a crater which was gorgeous.
Stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Everything was nice, clean and well equipped. The sleeping area is quite quiet to ensure you have a good sleep. I spent 1 night and then returned 2 days later. The first night, I stayed in a double female room, higher cost and the second one in a mixed 10 bed dorm and it turned out to be better staying in the dorm, though it's cheaper. More space and even a toilet inside the dorm, which the double fails to offer. Not so much fun though and location is a bit isolated, like in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Always choose a dorm for more space
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuyenTranVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hostel is unique, cool, clean and the staff are very helpful. Due to the earthquake many guesthouses are not open and therefore you must book well in advance to makesure you get a bed here.

We stayed in a large dormitory, which had its own bathroom. It had everything we needed and was spotless. The communal areas in this hostel are amazing, and includes a pool room and cinema room. Its only a 15 minute walk from the centre and there are a few shops nearby, although the supermarket is a bit of a trek.

We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Christchurch!

Amy and Chris x

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews